EATS: Summerlicious at Annona

Hello everyone! On the 2nd last day of Summerlicious, the HF and I had dinner at Annona at the Park Hyatt. We were actually heading to a wedding reception later that night, however were advised to eat beforehand since they were offering a strolling dinner. I had never been to Annona before, but I did attend a Dior event at the Park Hyatt a couple of years back so I knew the food would be fantastic. We enjoyed their house made foccacia and flatbread crisps with olive oil and olive tapenade (which I had to continually remind the HF what it was called lol.) The foccacia was stuffed with bits of olive and feta cheese and was an incredible beginning to our night.He started with the Rabbit Rillette which was basically like a terrine. It was a generous portion and was perfectly accented with the crunch of the pistachio and kept bright with the mint and pea puree. The poached mushrooms were earthy and also a nice variance in terms of texture.As per usual, I went for the tartar option and it seems like both my Summerlicious starters had Asian flavours. The cured cucumber was slightly sour which was a fantastic complement to the richness of the tuna. I LOVED the ponzu and soy sauce reduction.For the main course, the HF chose the Five Spiced Hoisin Glazed Cornish Hen (also true to form since he had the Five Spice Duck Confit at One LOL) however this was definitely a different dish. The hen was tender and juicy, the glaze was sweet and savoury, and that mango and daikon slaw was deliciously summery. I had the Chilean Sea Bass (was originally an open blue cobia apparently but I didn’t even notice the menu change) which was SO hearty! I must confess that I had only seen a couple of photos on IG and the portion sizes looked tiny. I was proven wrong as everything was VERY generous. The fish was cooked perfectly – flaked off and was so meaty. The truffle pea puree was a great touch, however I was not a fan of the spiced citrus jam. The HF had never had a real Chocolate Lava Cake before so this was the perfect time to indulge. The spun sugar was a beautiful addition and the raspberry coulis counteracted the richness of the chocolate. The ganache oozed out of the cake upon the first touch of the fork and was a thing of beauty. I almost regretted not ordering this. I love creme brulee (all desserts, really) so I ordered the Creme Brulee Three Ways. It featured one with orange, another with lemon, and my favourite one, which had lavender. While the custard could’ve been creamier, the flavours really shone through. The coulis on the bottom was a bit messy so it took away a bit from the presentation, however as Alvin Leung says – TASTE IS KING.With all of the options of Summerlicious/Winterlicious, it’s easy to overlook Annona. This was one of the BEST dinners I’ve ever had during these events so I would highly recommend it for next year (and I would totally come back during regular times…just gotta save for it LOL.) Service was impeccable, the atmosphere was quiet and intimate, and the food was excellent.

Annona is located at the Park Hyatt Yorkville at 4 Avenue Road, Toronto.

Where did you eat for Summerlicious? What’s on your Licious bucket list? Let me know! Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

