EATS: Summerlicious at One Restaurant

Hello everyone! Instead of doing a Summerlicious recap this year, I figured I would blog as I went so that way you can get in on the fun before it ends! Summerlicious is on until Sunday, July 23rd so don’t miss out. Anyway, the first restaurant I went to this year was One Restaurant in Yorkville. This is a Mark McEwan establishment and I had been here for brunch several years ago, so I knew it would be a fantastic experience. Of course, I came here with my favourite dinner companion (my boyfriend, Mike, aka the HF) and we started off with some beverages. I decided to try one of the Summerlicious cocktails – the name is escaping me now but it was basically sparkling wine with blood orange syrup. Sweet and just a little tart, it was a refreshing start to the meal. To start, I had the Spicy Tuna Tartare and he had the Guajillo Beef Tostada. Mine was like an elevated and deconstructed spicy tuna roll. The avocado wasabi puree was smooth and rich, the sushi rice cake was crispy, and both perfectly complemented the tartare in terms of flavours and textures. The beef on the tostada was tender and bursting with flavour and kept in check with the jicama slaw and jalapenos. For the main course, I chose the Braised Beef Cheek and he had the 5 Spice Duck Confit. The sweet corn puree was subtly sweet and was accented beautifully by the pickled onions. The beef cheek was braised perfectly – I barely needed to use my knife. The potato chips (or pommes Anna) were a nice crispy addition on top. The duck confit was very interesting as it fuses together French technique with Asian flavours. I loved the carrot-ginger puree (clearly, I’m a fan of purees this year) and the duck was rich and delicious. Personally, I preferred my main over this one…however I DID have duck confit a few days before so maybe I was ducked out (#firstworldproblems.)Anytime there’s matcha as a dessert option, I’m pretty much all in. I had the Matcha Strawberry Shortcake and I really could’ve eaten like 5 of these. The vanilla bean chantilly was a great accent to the subtle earthiness of the matcha. The strawberries kept the dish bright, while the pistachios added a wonderful crunch. I loved the presentation as well.The HF had never tried Tiramisu before, so this was the perfect opportunity. The mascarpone was smooth and creamy, however I wasn’t a huge fan of the brittle (?) it was served with since it became very chewy and sticky when I ate it. The tiramisu itself however was fantastic.Service was impeccable and we were fortunate to have been seated on their patio. It was a beautiful summer evening and we had a great time. We would both gladly return here during non-Licious times (however it’d definitely be a splurge.) I highly recommend checking out One Restaurant for Summerlicious while you still can!

One Restaurant is located at 116 Yorkville Avenue in Toronto. You can check them out online at http://one.mcewangroup.ca. You can also have a gander at their (plus many other) Summerlicious menus here.

Where have you gone for Summerlicious this year? Have you been to One? Let me know! Thanks so much for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “EATS: Summerlicious at One Restaurant

Leave a Reply

