Turning 31 feat. ABH Modern Renaissance & Tarte x Sephora

Hello everyone! If you follow me on Instagram (if you don’t – do it now @staygorgeousLC), you’ll know that it was recently my birthday! Yes, it’s true; I turned 31 years old! This year I didn’t want to splurge as hard as I did for my 30th, so I indulged in a new eyeshadow palette! After reading countless raving reviews for the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette, I knew I needed to get my hands on it when it was finally restocked on Sephora’s website. I wanted a new palette that wasn’t just bronzey neutrals (since that usually is my game.) I also took the opportunity to get my VIB birthday gift from Tarte and isn’t that nice? It all matched! (On the outside at least…)The packaging of the Modern Renaissance palette is reminiscent of my beloved Urban Decay Naked (which is being tossed soon just due to age) in the sense that it is that fuzzy, velvety casing. It contains 14 beautiful shades that are a mix of matte and shimmer/pearl with an emphasis on warmer pinks, oranges, and reds that are balanced by neutrals (perfect for crease/transition/smoking out.)

Here are the swatches without primer (from left to right: Tempera, Raw Sienna, Golden Ochre, Burnt Orange, Vermeer, Primavera, Buon Fresco, Red Ochre, Antique Bronze, Venetian Red, Love Letter, Warm Taupe, Cyprus Umber, and Realgar.
As you may be able to see, some of the mattes are slightly powdery but I didn’t have any issues with application or blending. If I’m doing some major eyeshadow, I will generally do my eyes first and base after in case of fallout. There was a bit of that but like I said, shadow first strategy prevents the rest of your face getting messed up! I was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed the colours from the VIB Tarte birthday gift. It comes with a 12-hour Amazonian Clay Blush in Paaarty and a Tarteist Lip Paint in Birthday Suit. I was slightly worried that the lip paint would be too pink, but it ended up being a beautiful muted medium nude rose. It has a minty scent and was very creamy without being drying. The blush is also a universally flattering dusty rose which looks pretty natural. Here is the look that I put together for my birthday this year! I believe I used Raw Sienna as the crease/transition, Antique Bronze for the center of the lid, Cyprus Umber to smoke out the crease, Vermeer as the highlight, Tempera on the inner corners, and a mix of Raw Sienna and Cyprus Umber on the lower lashline. I also used the Tarte blush and Lip Paint, along with my current favourite highlighter, Prosecco Pop from the Jaclyn Hill x Becca Champagne Collection face palette.
Other products used (if I recall correctly…)
-Dior Forever and Ever Wear primer
-Wet n Wild Photo Focus Foundation in Buff Bisque (AWESOME newer drugstore foundation!)
-TooFaced Born This Way Concealer in Medium
-Make Up For Ever HD Pressed Powder
-Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Original
-Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper
-Cle de Peau Eyebrow Pencil #204
-YSL Terre Saharienne bronzer
-Maybelline Lash Sensational Waterproof mascara in Very Black

Please feel free to ask questions about any of the products I’ve mentioned in this post! Thanks so much for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Turning 31 feat. ABH Modern Renaissance & Tarte x Sephora

Leave a Reply

