EATS: Winterlicious at O&B Canteen

Hello everyone! I was fortunate enough to be able to do another Winterlicious dinner – this time it was with my friend Tonya after the Wet ‘N Wild 2017 launch (post forthcoming!) We decided to check out O&B Canteen since it was one of the more inexpensive options and I figured since it was Oliver and Bonacini, it would be a great choice.

The menu and atmosphere at Canteen is definitely more casual. I must say though, that this was the least impressive O&B restaurant I’ve been to. The dishes (although they mostly tasted good) lacked the usual finesse that I’ve grown accustomed to with Oliver and Bonacini. This was the Smoked Salmon Cucumber Salad…and I also wondered where the smoked salmon was when I first looked at it. The slices of salmon were actually underneath all of the lettuce…I’m not quite sure why, but I really think it should’ve been on top. The vinaigrette was simple and was accented nicely by the dill and the salmon was tender. It was definitely tasty – just not that exciting to look at (can you tell I’m a visual learner?!)I decided to go for the schnitzel and again, it was just okay. Maybe it’s my lack of schnitzel experience, but I think it could’ve used a bit more seasoning. The grainy mustard and sauerkraut were a welcome addition – but again, the presentation was lacking. I know I know – you’re probably thinking what a snob I am, but really…I’ve posted many a photo of Oliver and Bonacini dishes at various restaurants and events and they all looked AND tasted fantastic.I finished the meal with the apple bread pudding, but I was confused when they brought this tart. Don’t get me wrong – it’s hard to mess up dessert for me and I actually thoroughly enjoyed it. But this was an apple crumble tart and definitely not a bread pudding. I’m not sure if they ran out and didn’t tell us or if I’m missing the fact that maybe it was a bread pudding inside of a tart, either way – this was my favourite part of the dinner.Overall, I wasn’t as impressed with O&B Canteen and I’m not sure I would return during non-Licious times (or even Licious times…) There are definitely better options within the O&B family of restaurants (ie: Auberge du Pommier, Bannock, Beaumont Kitchen.) If you’re looking for a no-frills dining experience, then I guess this would work for you. I think I just overhyped it for myself due to past experiences.

O&B Canteen is located at 330 King St. West at the bottom of the TIFF Bell Lightbox. Their Winterlicious menu is $28 and is only on for another day as it ends on February 9th, 2017. You can check them out online at http://www.obcanteen.com.

Have you gone anywhere exciting for Winterlicious? Let me know! Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

