EATS: Pokito

Hello everyone! I’m pretty sure it’s safe to say that poke is the new taco. Poke (basically a Hawaiian fish salad) has started popping up all around Toronto and I can’t wait to try them all! (Shoutouts to the OG Canadian poke crew at Pokeh Bar in Hamilton though!)
A few weeks ago after a teacher preview event at the AGO, my friend Heidi and I decided to try Pokito on Queen West. I had been following them on Instagram for a while so I was excited to finally pop in.Pokito is one of many great food options with Kinton and Banh Mi Boys just down the street. The restaurant is bright and the decor feels casual yet polished.I opted for the 420 Bowl on top of soba noodles that features both tuna and salmon along with sweet onions, cucumbers, and Hawaiian guacamole. I also added roasted garlic corn and crab salad to my poke bowl. While it was tasty, I think next time I would hold off on the Hawaiian guac (which has mango and pineapple in it) since the sweetness of the fruit really made the sweetness of the sauce a bit cloying. There are so many great flavours but I feel like the sauces along with the guac took away from the poke itself…like they were all fighting with each other to come out on top (if that makes sense.) All in all, I would definitely come back for poke if I’m in the area and craving it. Pokito is a great, light alternative in the Queen and Spadina area.

Pokito Canada is located at 420 Queen St W, Toronto. Check out their website at http://www.pokito.ca. You can also follow them on Twitter and Instagram at @pokitocanada and give their Facebook page a Like!

One thought on “EATS: Pokito

Leave a Reply

