New Lipstick Roundup

Hello everyone! Lipstick was a mega focus over the last month and a bit – I managed to pick up 4 of them (I may have a problem…and sadly, this post is not sponsored LOL.) But really – since I’m not a shoe addict – you really can’t have too many lipsticks. It started with the discovery of Kosas lipsticks at The Truth Beauty Company’s new Guelph location
…followed by 2 new lipsticks during my NYC trip…
…including a custom colour from the Bite Beauty Lip Lab……and finally, a new addition to my Charlotte Tilbury collection – one of the new Matte Revolution Hot Lips.
Swatches from left to right: Lipstick Queen Sinner Lipstick in Natural Sinner, Bite Beauty Lip Lab Custom Colour (unofficially named Central Park After Dark as an homage to my favourite OPI nail colour and of course, NYC), Kosas Cosmetics Weightless Lip Colour in Fringe, and Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution Hot Lips in Hel’s Bells.Lipstick Queen is currently not available in Canada – I picked this up at the Space NK pop-up inside Bloomingdale’s in Manhattan. The Sinner lipstick range offers more opaque coverage with a satin finish. Natural Sinner is a muted warm berry toned MLBB. It glides on easily and stays on for most of the day and does not leave any stain. My custom Bite Beauty colour is a mega deep red with brown undertones. I chose a matte finish, but if you’re familiar with Bite, you’ll know that their matte is more of a demi-matte/almost satin. Very smooth and hydrating and I had them use the berry and mint essential oils for the scent. It is almost reminiscent of the Too Faced Melted Chocolate in Chocolate Cherries, but slightly redder. As you can see, it does retain shine so it is not a true dry matte.Kosas Cosmetics Weightless Lip Colour in Fringe is a muted brick-toned red. This definitely looks more day-to-day workplace appropriate in terms of red lips (though you know I love my Mac Russian Red and Ruby Woo.) I picked this up because Jen of Truth Beauty was raving about the pigmentation and lasting power of this natural lipstick so I was immediately sold. It definitely wears very well and is super hydrating. I can see myself wearing this a lot to work.
Finally, after months of FOMO, I managed to pick up one of the Charlotte Tilbury Hot Lips lipsticks when I trekked down to the Holt Renfrew on Bloor (currently the only physical place in Toronto to get CT.) Hel’s Bells (named after Helena Bonham Carter) is a deep plum which is PERFECT for the fall. I have been wearing this one frequently and getting mad compliments every time I do. These are described as a “modern matte” in the sense that they are still hydrating and don’t tug at the lips when applying, but because of that – they are not a true dry matte. I still LOVE this colour though and it is probably my favourite of out the 4 featured here. What do you think of my recent acquisitions? Have you tried any of the brands I’ve mentioned? Have you created your own Bite lip colour before? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

5 thoughts on “New Lipstick Roundup

Leave a Reply

