EATS: Pokeh 

Hello everyone! I first heard about Poke from Just Kidding Films/David So on YouTube and I’d been intrigued for months now. When I noticed a Pokeh Bar pop on up Instagram, I knew I would need to eventually trek it out to Hamilton to give it a try. I decided to go after hitting up a PY Strength class at Power Yoga Canada Oakville (my home studio is Etobicoke) since it was only about 20 minutes away. Maybe the locals in Hamilton are familiar with the little gem called the Hamilton’s Farmer Market, but for me, it was a pleasant surprise. It is an indoor farmer’s market that is open year round and houses many different stalls with produce, meats, cheese, baked goods, and of course, delicious prepared food.For those of you who are unfamiliar, poke (pronounced like okay with a p) is a Hawaiian fish salad that usually showcases raw ahi (yellowfin) tuna, sesame oil, soy sauce, and whatever vegetables you want. It’s a light and fresh dish with tons of flavour. At Pokeh, you can either order one of their signature bowls or customize your own. I opted to customize and went with cucumber  “noodles” as my base (0 smartpoints y’all), ahi tuna, avocado, wakame, carrot, cucumber, and nori with sesame oil and soy sauce. I ordered the regular size this time which is a great size to pair with something else from the market, however next time I’m going for the large. It was everything I’d hoped for – fresh tuna with the big boost of rich sesame oil. Everything was kept light with the cucumber noodles and the wakame. I absolutely loved it and cannot wait to go back! We definitely need Pokeh in Toronto (cough cough, Etobicoke would be perfect) because I need more poke in my life.Pokeh is located on the lower level west side of the Hamilton Farmers Market (35 York Blvd) in Hamilton, ON. You can check out their website at http://www.pokeh.ca, and follow them on Twitter and Instagram at @PokehBar.

NOTE: The market is only open on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays!

Have you been to Pokeh? Do you have any other recommendations inside the Hamilton Farmer’s Market? Let me know! Thanks so much for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “EATS: Pokeh 

Leave a Reply

