REVIEW: CoverGirl Katy Kat Matte Lipsticks

Hello everyone! Most drugstore brands are hopping on the matte lipstick bandwagon however I have yet to find one that is truly matte. I love a bold, matte lip and I’ve found the best to be the Mac Retro Mattes in terms of true matte pigmentation and longevity. The only drawback is the extreme dry-feel which may not work for you if your lips tend to run more on the dry side.
Anyway, I was mega interested when I heard Katy Perry was coming out with a line of matte lipsticks all named with the love of cats. It is advertised as a demi-matte, however I would classify them as more of a satin since it does maintain a fair bit of shine. In that sense, they are very moisturizing, however I really think they called it matte just because it rhymed. Regardless, I picked up 4 of them as soon as I saw the display at my local Shoppers Drug Mart. The packaging is very modern and clean with a matte white cap and the colour showing on the bottom. From left to right: Sphynx, Catoure, Crimson Cat, and Maroon Meow.Sphynx is a pink based nude with just a hint of a beige lean. I was surprised at how much I liked this on even though it definitely leans more on the pink side. It applied easily with very little slipping and stayed on for roughly 4 hours before needing a touch up. This one is definitely my favourite of the 4.Catoure is like a berry based mauve with a bit of brown. At first I thought it’d be a nice mlbb colour, but on my lips, it runs just a touch too berry for my liking. This one is the least favourite of the ones I picked up.Crimson Cat is a true red. I think it’s just personal preference, but when I wear a red lip, I want it bold and sharp. I find because this formula is so creamy it doesn’t give the precise, sharp line around the lips (I never wear lip liners) like with true mattes (ie: Mac or Too Faced Melted Mattes.) I think this would be a nice introduction to someone who is starting to wear reds because you can stipple it on your lips and build it up slowly.Maroon Meow is a deep plum-wine. I got lots of compliments when I wore it and this lasted also around 4 hours before needing to be reapplied. Again there was just a bit of slipping but overall it wore nicely. When it comes to dark shades, I do want a more solid matte finish, but again – I think it’s just personal taste.Here are the swatches (same order as before). All in all, I would recommend these as a satin lipstick as opposed to a matte. If you’re looking for that bold, dry matte, you’re going to have to go for the Mac Retro Mattes or Too Faced Melted Mattes. If you’re looking for a nice hydrating lip colour with great pigmentation and adorable names, then check out the Katy Katte Matte line.

CoverGirl Katy Kat Mattes (approx. $8-$10CDN) are available now at all major drugstores. The rest of the Katy Perry x CoverGirl line is set to launch in July available now! Just spotted the Kay Kat Eye mascaras this evening (May 29) at Wal-Mart!

Which colour(s) are you interested in? Have you picked up any of the Katy Kat Mattes? Let me know in the comments! Thanks so much for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “REVIEW: CoverGirl Katy Kat Matte Lipsticks

  1. plateaubeautycom says:

    The Maybelline Creamy Mattes are very matte — you should try them out if you haven’t already. I was disappointed by the Katy Kat Mattes. The colours are lovely and the formula is comfortable…. but as you noted, they’re not matte!

    • staygorgeous says:

      I think I tried one of them when they were first released – I remember the shade selection wasn’t very exciting though. Maybe I’ll try to find it in my collection and give it another go!

      • plateaubeautycom says:

        Ooh really? I found a few I liked. My favourites are Divine Wine, Touch of Spice, and Craving Coral.

  2. asomersday says:

    Wow! I didn’t know that Katy Perry was coming out with some lipsticks. I’m not sure if they’re available in the UK though because we have MaxFactor Instead of Covergirl but they’re the same brand…Interesting to read your thoughts on them though xx

    • staygorgeous says:

      Thank you! Ah you have access to so many other brands though in the UK! I wish we had the entire Soap and Glory range instead of just the lip glosses and bath products 😦

Leave a Reply

