Nyx Strobe of Genius Illuminating Palette

Hello everyone! First things first – I hate the term “strobing.” I don’t know why but it just bugs me! Anyway now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, if you’re familiar with my blog or know me well, you’ll know that I am a highlighter fiend. I love highlighting powders and my collection is still growing (even though it really shouldn’t be…don’t judge.) There are so many options from drugstore to high end and everyone is jumping on the highlighting palette bandwagon. I was perusing my local Shoppers Drug Mart a little while back since I had an Optimum offer to get bonus points when I noticed that they had a Nyx display. Previously, Nyx was only available at Rexall, briefly when Target was a thing in Canada, and online at FTB Beauty. Now, Nyx is available at SDM and through their own stores that are now up here and online on their Canadian website. If you’re unfamiliar with the brand, Nyx specializes in quality makeup for drugstore prices. When I saw this multicolour palette and realized it was all highlighters, it immediately came home with me. This palette contains 7 (!) highlighters in different colours and the beauty is within the ability to blend these together to create your own custom highlight if you don’t want to wear just one shade. While it is advertised as being velvety and it is relatively blendable, there is a touch of chalkiness which is basically par for the course for most value-brands. When applied, you really have to make sure to blend and use a light hand to build up the intensity or else you will look like a disco ball. The texture is a bit chunkier than my preferred highlighting powders (ie: Cle de Peau and Hourglass) however these look perfect after a few hours when the initial metallic shimmer has faded and you’re left with a soft glow. These powders are definitely not subtle!Here are the swatches in order from left to right starting with the top left and the last 3 are the larger shades from the bottom of the palette. If you don’t have a ton of highlighters or want that variety, then this is definitely worth checking out. At $27 CDN (and a chance to get Optimum points at Shoppers), it’s more wallet-friendly than most highlighting palettes.
Here I am wearing just the bottom left (1st large pan) shade. Like I said – I prefer more of a soft glow with nothing too crazy. I am however intrigued with that coppery shade and I think it’ll be really nice in the summer when I get super tanned.

The Nyx Strobe of Genius Illuminating Palette ($27CDN) is available now at Nyx, online at NyxCosmetics.ca, select Shoppers Drug Mart stores, and Rexall.

Do you have any highlighting palettes of choice? What are your favourite Nyx products? Let me know in the comments! Thanks so much for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Nyx Strobe of Genius Illuminating Palette

Leave a Reply

