Too Faced Melted Matte in Lady Balls

Hello everyone! Liquid mattes are still hot and I don’t think they’re going anywhere for a long time. The tricky thing with these however is that many of these formulations from different brands tend to run on the drier side (stay tuned for the ColourPop UltraMatte vs UltraSatin Lips I recently acquired.) But alas since I am a mega fan of matte reds, I couldn’t resist the latest offering from Too Faced. The Melted Matte collection includes a variety of colours ranging from nudes to trendy purples and blues. Julie of Swatch and Review actually helped push me in this direction since at first I was contemplating a more neutral lip. I’m glad she did because Lady Balls has become my new favourite matte red lip. Particularly because the first time I wore it to my first Blue Jays game as an adult (I had previously only gone when I was assisting with karate camp as a teenager), they won! AND because it’s all about superstition, I wore it again to my 2nd game this past weekend and again with a win. So obviously, the key to the Jays success lies in Lady Balls.Lady Balls is described as a matte true red. The formula is smooth and easy to apply – however since it does use a doe-foot applicator, I definitely wipe a bit of excess on the bottle before applying. It is extremely pigmented and has the lasting power of a stain (a bit of a challenge to remove – cleansing oil works best) however it is not as drying as the Mac Retro Mattes (and definitely not like the ColourPop Ultra Matte…details to follow.) It wore for about 8 hours with very minor fading even after eating tacos! Here are comparison swatches of TF Lady Balls (on top) and Mac Feels So Grand (Retro Matte liquid on bottom.) As you can see, Feels So Grand runs a bit brighter and just a touch warmer whereas Lady Balls runs a bit more on the deeper, blue-toned side.The Too Faced Melted Mattes ($25 CDN) are available now at Sephora and Sephora.com. I highly recommend picking up at least one of these, and hey – if you’re a Jays fan – consider Lady Balls to help ’em out! (Haha)

What are your favourite liquid matte brands? Have you had any horror stories with liquid mattes? Let me know in the comments, or even just say hello if you’re a fellow Jays fan! Thanks so much for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “Too Faced Melted Matte in Lady Balls

Leave a Reply

