Fashion Art Toronto 2016

I was recently offered VIP passes to attend this year’s Fashion Art Toronto show located at Daniel’s Spectrum in Regent Park. I was able to make it out to the last 2 days and saw some beautiful and interesting runway shows, however not without a bunch of setbacks. Now I don’t want this post to be all negative so I will just get this out of the way now.
Even though I was offered VIP (which included reserved seating, complimentary drinks, and backstage access), somehow whether it was the PR company or people at FAT my name was not added onto the VIP list. I showed several people the e-mail which confirmed that I was supposed to be VIP however it was barely resolved. Because I wasn’t on the VIP list the first night, nobody showed me that I had seats and I was annoyed to say the least, when, as I was leaving I saw 2 chairs with my name on them (which were of course taken by people when I didn’t “show up”. My friend and I had to stand the entire first night and were reluctantly given our drink tickets. I e-mailed the person who had contacted me about the passes hoping things would be resolved for the following night. I arrived the next evening with another friend and when I checked in, I was told that my seats would be in the exact same place as the night before as long as I was on the VIP list. Lo and behold – the issue was not resolved and my seats were no longer there. I asked one of the FAT staff about it and told them the company that had given me the passes and they put me in the front row (thank goodness, I thought to even have seats!) which allowed me to get all of these beautiful photos. UNFORTUNATELY, between shows, the CEO of Sidebuy (the company that offered me VIP passes) decided to attend at the last minute and when my friend and I returned to the seats we were in before, she and her guest unceremoniously kicked us out. Now I understand that if you’re the CEO then sure, you should be in the front row – but she did not offer any alternative nor did she even offer to get the seating arrangements resolved with the FAT staff. My friend and I ended up being way at the back where I couldn’t see a thing for the last 3 collection shows. I was really disappointed in the lack of resolution and like I said – I’m not sure where the details got lost in translation. Either way, I left feeling irritated. I know at the end of the day, I’m basically a nobody and I am not one who usually feels entitled to anything. The way I see it, if you’re going to offer something – you better make sure you follow through.
Sorry for the long rant. When I did have seats, I saw some great collections.
Here’s Fiona X. Sun: 

The designer herself:

The next show (on the final night) was from Lushyne which was probably my favourite line out of all that I got to see.


 

Mr. Lucci Rojas

The last one from the front row was Oscar Mendoza.

I’ll always support art and local/Canadian designers – it’s amazing to see people expressing themselves and creating such beautiful clothing. If you’re interested in Fashion Art Toronto, you can check them out online and stay updated for next year’s festival at http://fashionarttoronto.ca.

2 thoughts on “Fashion Art Toronto 2016

  1. Andy says:

    I’m so sorry you had a shitty experience, it really sucks…I hate showing up to things having being told I’m on the list and having to deal with that kind of thing 😦

Leave a Reply

