Mac Viva Glam Ariana Grande

Hello everyone! Truth be told, I am not an Ariana Grande fan – nor do I have any negative feelings toward her. She has some catchy songs but why does she always look so sad? Anyway, that’s neither here nor there. I started seeing swatches for the latest Viva Glam (x Ariana Grande) and I was immediately intrigued.    The Viva Glam lipsticks benefit the Mac AIDS Fund which has been supporting AIDS patients worldwide since 1994. 100% of the selling price of every Viva Glam product goes directly to this charity, so I had no problem deciding to pick this one up.
Viva Glam x Ariana Grande is a super dark plum with brown undertones. Upon swatching, I found the closest match was the Nars Audacious lipstick in Ingrid (left). The centre swatch is Black Dahlia by Tom Ford, and the last one is the Viva Glam. As you can see, even Ingrid looks a bit more maroon next to VG x AG.
It is a matte formula, however if you are familiar with the Mac matte finish, you’ll know that it still keeps a slight shine and is definitely not as dry as a retro matte. This lipstick is definitely bold and dramatic. I kept everything else on my face neutral so as not to distract from the lips. To be honest…it’s probably not my favourite lipstick I’ve bought from Mac. Perhaps I’m just not used to having such a dark colour on my lips or maybe it’s just the tone. Maybe it’ll grow on me. Either way, I am happy to finally support the Mac AIDS Fund and I hope you will too!

Viva Glam Ariana Grande ($20 CDN) is available now at all Mac counters, Mac stores, and online at maccosmetics.ca

Did you pick this one up? Do you own any other Viva Glam lipsticks or glosses? Let me know! Thanks so much for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Mac Viva Glam Ariana Grande

  1. Judy Nguyen says:

    I have the Nicki Minaj Viva Glad lipstick. I’ve never worn it because it is the hottest shade of Barbie pink and pastel purple. But I love Nicki and had to pick them up. I never knew it was for charity! Makes me feel less guilty for buying them 😛

Leave a Reply

