SHOWDOWN: Brows Over Everything

Hello everyone! This post is long overdue since I’d been talking about it since sometime last year. Eyebrow products are super popular now and so many brands have come out with their own renditions to help you shape your brows. Grooming your brows is probably one of the quickest ways to make your face look more polished whether you wear makeup or not. For those of us who are born with slightly sparse brows, filling them in provides the same effect. I am finally ready to share with you 4 eyebrow pencils that I’ve tried and my thoughts on which is better. 2 of these are drugstore brands and the other 2 are high end.Pictured from left to right below: Annabelle Stay Sharp Waterproof Brow Liner in Ebony, Nyx Auto Eyebrow Pencil in Charcoal, Burberry Effortless Eyebrow Definer in Ebony, and Cle de Peau Eyebrown Pencil #204. As you can see, 3 out of 4 have slanted tips whereas the Annabelle has a pointed tip which actually makes that one very challenging to control. As for spoolie’s, all except the Annabelle do include one, however I threw out the Nyx brush when I first got it since it was not useful at all (it had actual brush bristles and didn’t disperse the colour well). The Burberry spoolie on the left is firmer than the Cle de Peau on the right, however both perform very well to blend out the eyebrow colour.Swatches from L-R: Annabelle, Nyx, Burberry, Cle de Peau.Please excuse my shiny forehead – I figured it was best to not worry about foundation/powder since I was wiping brow products off anyway. So on the left is Nyx and the right is Annabelle. Here’s how the 2 drugstore brow pencils fared against each other:
TEXTURE: Annabelle has a creamier texture which is reminiscent of their regular Stay Sharp Waterproof Eyeliners which combined with the pointed tip makes it hard to control colour. It is very pigmented and you need to spoolie-brush the heck out of your brows to make them look more natural. I prefer the waxier texture of the Nyx pencil since you can build up the colour if you want.
COLOUR: Nyx wins this as well since Charcoal is more of a cool-toned black/grey whereas Annabelle’s Ebony is more of a true black which again, is not as natural. I really had to blend it out a lot so it didn’t look like I actually put eyeliner on my brows.
DRUGSTORE WINNER: Nyx Auto Eyebrow Pencil ($6.50 CAD), available at Nyxcosmetics.ca and select Rexall stores.

High end:
TEXTURE:  Both have a waxier formula, however Burberry is just slightly creamier. Because of the creaminess as with the Annabelle, it deposits colour quickly, however it is still firm enough and has a triangular slanted tip which makes it easy to control. Perhaps it’s just because I’ve been using the Cle de Peau for almost 3 years and I’ve gotten used to it, but I still prefer its’ firmer formulation over Burberry.
COLOUR: This is a tough one since both are nice. In the photo below you can definitely see that the CdP is lighter since it is actually grey. The Burberry is a truer black, however it doesn’t look overpowering or unnaturally dark. I prefer the lighter CdP since I am more into natural looking brows, however the Burberry provides a nice step toward the popular dramatic brow without going overboard (the Anastasia Dip Brow still intimidates me!)
HIGH END WINNER: Cle de Peau Eyebrow Pencil #204 ($32 for refill cartridge, $42 for holder – wow the prices have definitely gone up within the last few years), available at Holt Renfrew.
Here are the 2 high end brow pencils: Cle de Peau is on the left and Burberry is on the right.

What’s your favourite eyebrow product? Are you more of a natural or dramatic brow person? Let me know in the comments! Thanks so much for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “SHOWDOWN: Brows Over Everything

  1. Angela says:

    Ooohh I like the drugstore and high end options. I’m really bad with my brows and only sometimes remember to put powder on them to shape it up.
    I can’t believe I just discovered your blog! I always see your name pop up on the CBB FB page haha! Just followed you 🙂 Looking forward to keeping in touch!

    Raincouver Beauty

Leave a Reply

