REVIEW: Mac Velvetease Lip Pencil in Reddy to Go

Hello everyone! I am totally a sucker for matte red lipsticks. Although I already own and love Mac’s Russian Red and Ruby Woo, when I saw the new Velvetease line at my most recent Mac visit, I knew I had to try one.  The retractable chunky lip pencil is not a new concept, however it seems as though most brands have thrown their hat into the ring. Clinique Chubby Sticks ($20 CDN) were probably my first foray into this type of lip product and I have tried many different offerings from drugstore brands like Soap and Glory’s Sexy Motherpucker Gloss Sticks ($12 USD – these ones are unfortunately not available here) all the way to the famous Nars Velvet Mattes ($32 CDN).
How the Mac Velvetease ($24 CDN) differs from the rest is that it offers high matte pigment with a very soft (velvet-like, even) formula. From Maccosmetics.com: “A lip product that delivers the vivid colour impact of a lipstick with the ease of a mechanical pencil.” Again, not a new idea however I do prefer this over a pencil that needs a sharpener. Reddy to Go is described as a “Deep Brick Red” and when I first swatched it in store, I was immediately reminded by my beloved Russian Red. Here they are together; Reddy to Go on top and Russian Red on the bottom.As you can see, Reddy to Go is more muted in colour with a slightly deeper, blue tone. While I love how vibrant Russian Red is, I am equally as enamored with the dryness of Reddy to Go. It is almost as matte as a Retro Matte (aka Ruby Woo) however infinitely smoother and easier to apply. This also does not dry out the lips at all and lasts pretty much all day. If you’re a fan of a matte lip look and want something that is still relatively hydrating, then give the Velvetease lip pencils a try!
The Mac Velvetease lip pencils are new to the permanent range and are available now at all Mac stores and counters and on maccosmetics.com.

Have you tried the Velvetease pencils yet? What colour(s) are you drawn toward? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks so much for stopping by, and I wish you all a wonderful New Year! 🙂

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Mac Velvetease Lip Pencil in Reddy to Go

Leave a Reply

