Guerlain Rouge G Lipstick in 78 Gladys

Hello everyone! I’m so excited to finally own a Guerlain beauty product. I recently received the $25 VIB Rouge gift card from Sephora and considering I have a lot of everything, I decided to use it on a brand that I don’t have anything from. I was perusing the Guerlain section at Sephora Eaton Centre last weekend with Kaitlyn and Jen (who was my Canadian Beauty Blogger Secret Santa) and I noticed a lipstick named Gladys. I don’t know about you, but when I think of Gladys, I imagine a sweet, little old lady or perhaps Gladys Knight. Lo and behold, Guerlain’s Gladys is more of the “spunky old broad” (thanks Jen lol) in terms of being a richly pigmented fuschia lipstick. The Rouge G lipsticks are packaged in a sleek silver bullet that has almost a futuristic feel. The weight is substantial since it also houses a double mirror, but considering it’s the same price as a Tom Ford lipstick ($55 CDN), it kinda makes you feel ok about it since you feel like you’re getting your money’s worth. The packaging was actually designed by Lorenz Bäumer, a famous jeweler from the Place Vendôme in Paris so this is definitely the epitome of luxury beauty.
Gladys is a bold, warm-toned fuschia with very subtle shimmer. Apparently it is formulated with ruby powder which helps create a shiny, plump and hydrated lip look. It glides on smoothly and is comfortable to wear. After 6 hours (including eating and drinking), the initial saturation of colour had faded, however it left a very nice stain on my lips. The only thing that I am not crazy about is the scent – it is very perfume-y however it is not detectable when I am actually wearing it.  I decided to compare it with another fuschia lipstick in my collection. This is the Chanel Rouge Allure lipstick in 145 Rayonnante on the top and Gladys on the bottom. As you can see, Rayonnante is cooler toned whereas Gladys leans more toward the berry-red side.
I decided that Gladys stands out on her own, so I made sure my eye makeup was simple (Burberry Pale Barley, Urban Decay Naked, Lorac Cream). If you’re looking to splurge on a luxe lipstick, I highly recommend checking out the Guerlain Rouge G’s.

Guerlain beauty is available at select Sephora stores, Sephora.com, select Hudson’s Bay stores, thebay.com, and select Shopper’s Drug Mart stores.

Are you a fan of fuschia lipstick? What’s your favourite? Let me know! Thanks so much for stopping by!

8 thoughts on “Guerlain Rouge G Lipstick in 78 Gladys

  1. derpypink says:

    I am a huge fan of the Chanel rayonnate and was also trying to decide what to get for the Sephora deal. This is such a lovely post. And I think I want to get this as well 😍 the colour looks so good on you.

Leave a Reply

