EATS: Tacos 101

Hello everyone! Tacos began blowing up in the Toronto food scene a few years ago and there are many options within the city to get your eat on. Fish tacos are my favourite and whenever I get a chance to try a new taco spot, I’m all in. My friend Brandon recently sent me a link to an article about the new Taco 101 on Dundas and we finally got the chance to stop in to give them a try!Tacos 101 is located at Dundas and Church and is a small and cozy space with bar seating for 4. I love the colourful and intricate decorations!
Their menu is simple and very inexpensive. $3 guac and chips?! You’d think that it would be a small portion however Brandon and I discovered that we really could’ve just split one instead of ordering our own. Definitely worth the $3.
I love the luchador mask painted on the counter. While you wait, you can also help yourself to chips and salsa up on the bar. I ordered the Nopal, Chicken Adobado, and Fish tacos to get the full experience. The fish taco was very fresh and brightly accented by the mango pico de gallo. The fish itself was crispy and light (not too much batter) so I would highly recommend it! The Nopal (vegetarian) was also a great option. I’d never had cactus before but it was a great combination with the refried beans and cheese. The Chicken Adobado was my least favourite – the chicken is diced so small that half of it fell out while eating and just a touch on the dry side.
I will definitely be going back to try the other 2 tacos. Service was really fast and even though there is very limited seating, people were very considerate to not linger after finishing their meals.

Tacos 101 is open Monday-Saturday from 11:30am – 9pm and is located at 101 Dundas St E in Toronto. You can check them out online at http://www.tacos101.com and on Twitter @Tacos101TO and Instagram at @Tacos101Toronto.

What’s your favourite taco restaurant? What’s your favourite taco? Let me know if you have any recommendations, and stay tuned for more of my taco adventures! (ie: La Carnita, Grand Electric, El Catrin…)

2 thoughts on “EATS: Tacos 101

Leave a Reply

