Tutorial: Base and Easy Contouring with Burberry*

Hello everyone! If you remember (or even if you don’t) – quite a long time ago I posted about contouring that, in retrospect, wasn’t very detailed. So since I also want to do an informal review of the new Burberry Fresh Glow Highlighting Luminous Pen* and Contouring Pen for Face and Eyes* along with other base products, I figured this would be a great time to explain my base makeup routine as well. All products used are listed at the end of this post! Not pictured here is my Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge because it just doesn’t look nice when there’s dried foundation on it.
First, the obligatory before photo. Freshly scrubbed and ready to go! STEP 1: I used the Burberry Fresh Glow Luminous Fluid Base (received a sample of this at Sephora and I love it!) after my moisturizer (Kiehl’s obviously) to provide that lit from within glow. It is thinner than the typical primer and makes your skin look healthy and fresh. I then followed up with the new Burberry Cashmere Foundation Fluid in No. 34 Warm Nude on my RT sponge which provides medium-full coverage. While it is not completely mattifying, it does take away a lot of shine and still allows the Luminous Fluid Base to shine through. I used the Cashmere Concealer in No. 04 Honey for underneath the eyes, sealing the jawline and temples, as well as to get rid of any other redness/scarring. I also put on a shirt just in case the bathrobe was too scandalous! (LOL)
STEP 2: Here comes the contouring. When this started blowing up last year, contouring seemed really difficult and time consuming. While it does require a bit of extra time, it’s actually quite easy! I learned how to contour at the Burberry-Sephora launch from Sophia Perri (Senior Account Executive of Burberry Cosmetics and Regional Trainer for Clarins Canada) and she made it look so easy with the new pens from Burberry. First, I took the Contouring Pen for Face and Eyes* and started drawing/shading thick lines underneath my cheekbones, a bit on my jaw line on both sides, down the sides of my nose, and on both sides of my forehead.   STEP 3: I then used the Highlighting Luminous Pen to highlight the highest points of my face, which are the tops of my cheeks, down the bridge of my nose, a bit on the cupid’s bow, then up between my eyebrows at the center of my forehead in sort of a tree or firework motion (multiple lines going up.)
STEP 4: For contouring, Sophia actually recommended using latex makeup wedges (I got inexpensive ones at Wal-Mart) since a brush would just disperse pigment and swirl it around, whereas the wedges remove most of the pigment but leave the slight stain/shadow effect.  STEP 5: I used my Real Techniques Buffing Brush to blend out the highlight and really let it sink into my skin. This highlighting pen provides such a beautiful glow (sorry for the excessive use of glow, but really – that should be Burberry’s main buzzword) and is creamy and easy to blend.
STEP 6: I dusted some Burberry Light Glow Natural Blush in No. 07 Earthy Blush with my Sigma F84 brush over the parts where I contoured to provide a bit more depth and definition as well as to set the contour. It was a bit challenging to get a picture that fully showed the fruits of my labor but I think this may have been the best one in terms of cheek contouring.  Burberry really does provide a seamless and well designed line that is both easy to use and wears beautifully. I highly recommend picking up their Contouring Pen for Face and Eyes* and Highlighting Luminous Pen* if you’re looking for great tools to make contouring a breeze! If you have any questions, please feel free to leave them in the comments.  PRODUCTS USED: (All Burberry unless explicitly stated)
Fresh Glow – Luminous Fluid Base 01 Nude Radiance
Cashmere Foundation Fluid 34 Warm Nude
Cashmere Concealer 04 Honey
Light Glow – Natural Blush 07 Earthy Blush
Effortless Contouring Pen for Face and Eyes No. 01 Medium*
Fresh Glow Highlighting Luminous Pen*

TOOLS: Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge, Real Techniques Buffing Brush, Sigma F84 Angled Top Kabuki

What are your favourite contouring products? Let me know! Thanks so much for stopping by!

Burberry is available now at Sephora Square One, online at Sephora.com, Burberry.com, thebay.com, and at select Hudson’s Bay stores.

DISCLAIMER: Some products mentioned in this post were provided as PR samples for the purposes of review and are marked with asterisks. I purchased all others as mentioned in the post. My opinions are my own and do not necessarily reflect the brands or any of its’ affiliates.

5 thoughts on “Tutorial: Base and Easy Contouring with Burberry*

  1. mayislam99 says:

    Omg the photos were beautiful girl! I literally just posted my first post on my blog page and it would literally mean the world to me if you checked it out and gave some feedback! Thank youuuuuuu x x

Leave a Reply

