EATS: Portland Variety and Auberge du Pommier

Hello everyone! Last Saturday I had the pleasure of having brunch with Dave Lackie (Editor in Chief of Beauty the Guide and nicest man on Twitter) and a whole bunch of other Twitter friends at Portland Variety. I had never been there before but boy oh boy I cannot wait to go back.  Portland Variety is located on the corner of King Street West and you guessed it – Portland Street. The atmosphere is warm, cozy, and bright. They offer amazing pastries and baked goods as well as fantastic brunch options (mimosas too!) I decided to try the Huevos with smoked tomato, refried beans, homemade chorizo, cheese, guacamole, salsa, and sour cream. It was savoury, a bit spicy, but delicious. The homemade chorizo was basically like ground chorizo which really was the star of the show. I also LOVE the fact that they serve their tea in a proper cup and saucer. The next time I go, I definitely want to try their Lemon Ricotta Pancakes since they looked simply amazing. After the brunch, Kaitlyn and I walked around King West for a bit, looking for good places to take photos for our recent fashion posts. We also had to walk off our brunch as much as possible since we had reservations at Auberge du Pommier later on that afternoon. I’d been to Auberge once before (for Winterlicious) and booked a table as soon as Summerlicious reservations opened up. I brought Kaitlyn here as her birthday present and it was outstanding. Not just the food, but the service really made it an exceptional dining experience. Kaitlyn has a severe gluten allergy and the staff at Auberge went above and beyond to make sure nothing she had was exposed to gluten products. They brought out gluten-free bread and a separate dip for her right after we got our drinks (I chose the Strawberry Guava juice – sweet and summery, Kaitlyn ordered the Lemon Verbena Iced Tea) and were very attentive if we had any questions about the menu options. For those of you who are unfamiliar, Auberge du Pommier is an Oliver and Bonacini restaurant which features modern French cuisine and an extensive wine selection. It is one of the most popular restaurants during the Licious events and reservations go quickly. I started with the Chicken Terrine with preserved peach and sauce verte which was light and flavourful with a variety of textures from the chicken, sauce, peaches, and pickles. For my main course, I chose the Mustard-glazed pork loin with summer vegetable ratatouille, basil, and fingerling potatoes. The glaze seemed a bit thick – when I think of glaze, I think of a light coating, however this did not overpower the pork at all. The ratatouille was bursting with flavor and it was nicely balanced with the mustard and the potatoes.  I ended the meal with their Mille-Feuille with blueberries, peach, and chocolate. Light and crispy, however a tiny portion. It was so good I wanted more! Considering the pork was a bit heavier, I suppose this was the proper end to a heavier meal. I was still more than satisfied with the entire meal. Have you ever been to Portland Variety and/or Auberge du Pommier? Considering the service, atmosphere, and quality of food, I cannot wait to go back! I highly recommend both of these if you’re looking for some good eats in the city. Thanks so much for stopping by!

DISCLAIMER: This is not a sponsored post. My opinions are honest and my own and do not necessarily reflect the restaurant or any of its affiliates.

Leave a Reply

