QUICK REVIEW: Make Up For Ever Professional Step 1 Equalizer – Mattifying Primer

Hello everyone! Having combination skin can be annoying sometimes. While my cheeks remain normal/dry, my t-zone definitely gets oily. I generally gravitate toward mattifying products, so when my good friend Kaitlyn won the entire line of the Make Up For Ever Professional Step 1 Equalizers and gave me ones she couldn’t use – I was excited and of course super grateful. I’ll talk about the Radiant Primer in Yellow another time; today I am sharing my thoughts on the mattifying primer.
makeupforeverFrom Makeupforever.com: MATTIFYING PRIMER is the answer to unwanted shine, fighting against excess oil to ensure a matte makeup result. Formulated with our specific Sebustop Vegetal Complex, this first step equalizer instantly reduces pore size and controls shine for a flawless makeup all day long.
PROS: Um….
CONS: I guess this primer just doesn’t want to work with my skin or makeup. It’s a bit thicker than regular primers that I’ve used and kind of…I don’t know; silicone-y? This primer just sits on top of my skin without actually being absorbed which leads to my foundation caking up and then balling out in patches…it’s pretty bad. Apparently it’s popular though since every Sephora I’ve been to is sold out so perhaps it’s just me.
Would I actually purchase? No. My Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer is still my primer of choice. It doesn’t control shine but oh well. Blotting sheets it is!

Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizers are available at Sephora and Sephora.com for $43 CDN.

Have you tried any of the new Make Up For Ever Skin Equalizers? What’s your mattifying primer or makeup product of choice? Let me know!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

One thought on “QUICK REVIEW: Make Up For Ever Professional Step 1 Equalizer – Mattifying Primer

  1. lovelexy says:

    Thanks so much for this post, I was looking at purchasing this primer but I might give it a miss now. I’ve also got oily/combination skin, and did a review of all the primers I’ve recently been using, i’d love for you to check it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

