My Favourite Reds

Hello everyone! This has been a long time coming, but here are a few of my favourite red lip products. I couldn’t include all of them nor did I think it was fair to talk about limited editions so here they are. To my knowledge, all of these are permanent products so you should be able to find them! I’ve made sure to include selections from drugstore to high end so that you have a variety of options.

Almost 3 years ago (before I started wearing makeup regularly), I never thought I could pull off red lipstick. One day, one of my best friends (Britt) and I went to Holt Renfrew on Bloor for a special Dior nail art event. While I was waiting for her, one of the Dior ladies asked if I wanted to try anything on. I had mentioned to dear Britty my thoughts on red lipstick so she piped in and told her I wanted to try it. They basically gave me a full on makeover…this was when the beauty bug bit me all the way back in 2012.
firstdiorI am wearing the Dior Addict lipstick I mention later on in this post in this photo. 
My top reds from left to right: Chanel Rouge Allure Gloss 19 Pirate, Dior Addict 745 New Look, Burberry Lip Cover No. 18 Ruby, Mac Russian Red (matte), and the Sonia Kashuk Velvety Matte lip crayon in Rosey Nude. Here are the swatches in the same order:
Swatched on the arm, the Sonia Kashuk almost looks like it could be a dupe for Russian Red. Applied however, it is a bit more muted as the name (Rosey Nude) would suggest. It is creamy with only a little bit of drying and has a demi-matte finish. Unfortunately for my fellow Canadians, SK is no longer available in Canada since it was only available at the ill-fated Target. BUT keep in mind Buffalo isn’t too far away and if you’re truly interested – eBay or American family members/friends should be able to help you out.
Mac Russian Red is probably my all time favourite. This photo really doesn’t do it justice. It is a matte red with blue undertones. It isn’t as drying as the Retro Matte formula (like Ruby Woo…which I will blog about another time) but provides a beautiful matte finish. At $19 CDN, this lipstick is worth every penny. A matte red lip says LOOK AT ME! Here’s a better photo of Russian Red and my ideal red lip look:
russianredBurberry Ruby has a beautiful satin shine. It applies and wears comfortably – very silky smooth. The only drawback is because it is so smooth, the staying power isn’t going to compare to a lipstick with a matte finish. It is closer to a true red.
Dior Addict New Look offers sheer coverage with almost a glossy finish. In some lights, it definitely leans more orange, however as seen below, it seems more of a neutral red. I feel as though this would be a nice start into red lips because it is sheer and you can definitely start applying with a light hand/stippling it on your lips. Again, this formula doesn’t have strong staying power, but it’s definitely nice for Spring/Summer days.
Chanel Pirate is the classic Chanel red. I’m not sure if it’s the lighting or just my current tanned skintone but this photo is showing it as almost leaning toward a berry tone. In person it is closer to a truer red. The Rouge Allure glosses were released last Fall going with the high pigment gloss trend. The packaging is the same as the RA lipsticks (pop up black and gold) so definitely a luxury gloss. I don’t find that it leaves any stain. This is a beautiful red gloss for Fall/Winter.
So that’s it for some of my favourite red lipsticks. Are you too timid to try red lips? Do you have a favourite red lip product? Do you prefer a matte, satin, or glossy finish? Please leave any recommendations in the comments as well!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “My Favourite Reds

Leave a Reply

