SHOWDOWN: Beauty Blender vs. RT Miracle Complexion Sponge

Hello everyone! If you asked me a year ago if I preferred a sponge or a brush for foundation, I would’ve said brush – hands down. I had bought the Beauty Blender before and returned it after it didn’t work well with my BB cream and I realized it would need to be washed every day. When I received it in my March Birchbox, I gave it another chance since I now use foundation instead of BB cream and I LOVE IT. Sure it needs more daily care but the coverage is worth it. The only drawback is the price point. At $26 CDN, the Beauty Blender is not the most inexpensive option, however it is very effective. Being a bargain hunter, I naturally looked into what else is available. Enter the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. At a more reasonable $7.99 CDN, I figured it was worth a try!
TEXTURE:
At first touch, both sponges feel pretty much the same. When you squeeze them however, the RT sponge definitely feels more dense – almost like memory foam dense. In this sense, I do prefer the marginally lighter weight Beauty Blender. One important thing to keep in mind: because the Beauty Blender is a bit lighter weight, it is also a bit more delicate. I accidentally ran my finger nail through it while cleaning which cause it to rip. So be careful if this is one you’re thinking about investing in.

COVERAGE:
These both do the same thing – apply foundation flawlessly. It helps really diffuse your foundation in a light and even application. I also really like using it to blend my under eye concealer.

SHAPE:
The Beauty Blender has that teardrop/egg shape whereas the Real Techniques sponge has the angled flat base. I do like that aspect of the RT since I think it provides more accuracy when applying foundation near the eyes as well as around the nose.

VALUE:
Considering they are very comparable in performance, I think $7.99 every 3-4 months for the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge is a bit easier to justify than the $26 Beauty Blender. While I would be happy to receive a Beauty Blender as a gift, I will choose a bargain dupe that performs just as well any day.

You can buy the Beauty Blender ($26 CDN) at Sephora as well as at FTB Beauty. The RT Miracle Complexion Sponge is available online at FTB Beauty and Nail Polish Canada (however it’s cheapest from FTB for $7.99 CDN – NPC sells it for $9.99 CDN).

If you have any questions, please feel free to leave them in the comments! Have you tried either one of these sponges? Have you tried both? Which do you prefer?

Thanks so much for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “SHOWDOWN: Beauty Blender vs. RT Miracle Complexion Sponge

Leave a Reply

