Highlights from Maybelline

Hello everyone! For a long time, I had avoided drugstore makeup because I found that the products just couldn’t compare (for the most part) to midrange and high end brands. The only drugstore product I enjoyed was the Maybelline Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze. On a whim back in the fall, I picked up the Maybelline Fit Me Matte and Poreless foundation and fell in love. Now I am a total convert and will say that Maybelline is my favourite drugstore brand. This is the brand that has given me suitable replacements for my higher end picks including Chanel, Bobbi Brown, Lancome, and Nars. Read on if you find this intriguing!I had originally picked up the Matte and Poreless Foundation in 125 Nude Beige which was my perfect winter colour. Before that, I had been using the Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet in 40 Beige which although was great for the summer and more of a matte finish as well – cost approximately $52 CDN (if I recall correctly.) So I wanted to find something inexpensive and took the chance on the new M+P. True story – haven’t repurchased Chanel since discovering this one and probably won’t! To be fair, I have recently picked up the YSL Encre de Peau Fusion Ink Foundation during the Sephora VIB Rouge sale to alternate, but I also just bought the M+P in 230 Natural Buff which is definitely a better match for my crazy tan. So considering I’ve now purchased 2 Matte and Poreless colours, I would say this is definitely a great pick especially for normal to oily skin.

The Age Rewind Dark Circle Corrector is featured in my May Favourites and has taken the place of my beloved Bobbi Brown Corrector and Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer combination. This is a treatment concealer and basically does what the corrector and concealer do, but in just 1 easy step. This is definitely more travel friendly, thinner in application however comparable in terms of coverage. Super impressed with this one (I wear it in the shade, “Light”).

The Lash Sensational Waterproof Mascara was also a bit of a gamble for me. As mentioned in one of my very early posts, mascara has always been a struggle. My lashes are super straight and point downward, and so no matter what, I always have to curl them with my Shu Uemura curler first. For the last 2 (almost 3) years, I’d been using the Lancome Hypnose Drama Waterproof. UNTIL NOW. Lash Sensational has officially taken over as my HG mascara; it keeps the curl, lengthens, and helps fan out my lashes (as much as possible). It doesn’t give crazy volume, but it does create a beautiful effect.

Finally, I have to mention the Color Tattoos. I picked up Bad to the Bronze when I was first starting to get into makeup because it was the one thing that I kept seeing in a lot of YouTube videos and beauty blogs. It is one of the cult favourites; everyone in the beauty blogging community basically owns it. It’s easy to apply and in a very universally pleasing metallic neutral bronze shade. I highly recommend picking this one up as it is definitely one of those one colour eyeshadow superstars. I also pictured Black Orchid in this picture even though it’s limited edition – it’s just so pretty. I featured it in my April Favourites as a demo/tutorial, so if you haven’t watched it and want to see it in action, click here.

What are your favourite Maybelline products? If not Maybelline, what is your favourite drugstore makeup brand? Let me know!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Highlights from Maybelline

  1. Mandy Nguyen says:

    My favorite right now is probably Jordana or Milani. It’s a tough choice. I totally agree with you though. Maybelline has a lot of stuff that is as good as luxury makeup!

    theaudfox.com

    • staygorgeous says:

      Ooh we don’t have Jordana here in Canada (or Ontario at least) – I did order a Jordana nail polish a few years back off of eBay. Maybelline is on fire! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. Caitlin says:

    I’ve been using that mascara for a while now too – love it! I’m going to look into the concealer you recommended! xo

  3. Jil says:

    I’ve always been a Rimmel lover but lately I’ve bought more Maybelline stuff I think as well as L’Oreal. That Age Corrector though, addicted.

  4. BentleyRealTalk says:

    After trying the Age Corrector Concealer over a year ago, I’ve never bought another product. I find the sponge applicator is really gentle on the under-eyes, which is helpful when they are puffy from early morning/late nights!

Leave a Reply

