Makeup Remover Roundup

Hello everyone! Over the years, I’ve gotten to try a few different cleansing products from wipes to oils and I figured I would share with you some of the highs and lows of this category of beauty/skincare. Let’s face it – sometimes we all get a little lazy before bed and don’t have the energy/time/motivation to do a full on facial cleansing ritual. Wipes are a perfectly good alternative (that’s right, I said it) on those nights when you just want to get to bed.

Balea/Life Brand 3-in-1 Cleansing Cloths ($4.99 – $13.99 at Shoppers Drug Mart depending on count) – No matter how many other brands of makeup removing wipes I try, this is the one I always go back to. It’s described as a makeup removing, cleansing, and toning wipe. Like all wipes, it doesn’t take 100% of your makeup off, but I would say it takes about 80% off. It has the right amount of moisture; no dripping but also not on the drier side. These always feel cool and soft to the touch and the biggest advantage is that these are on sale at least twice a month! I like picking up the 2×56 value pack that usually retails for $13.99 but can go as low as $9.99 on a promo. This is the best bang for your buck…if you’re not too adamant about green beauty.

Yes to Blueberries Age Refresh Brightening Facial Towelettes ($9.99 at Shoppers Drug Mart) – This was mentioned in one of my previous favourites videos and now they’ve reverted back to 25 count packs. Shown here is a 30 count pack and I definitely noticed a difference in quality between this and the 25. I’m not sure if it was the 5 extra wipes, but this 30 pack underperformed so hard. I loved the original 25 pack I first purchased; it smelled amazing, got off most of my makeup, and I loved that it was a more natural formula. The 30 pack was drier, so I had to rub my face harder (ouch) and in that sense, did not do the job as well. I might pick up the new 25 pack if there’s a sale to test my theory, but it really turned this favourite into an “un-favourite.”

Amie New Bloom Gentle Facial Cleansing Wipes ($6.99 at Shoppers Drug Mart) – This may be my new drugstore natural cleansing wipe of choice. Amie popped up here in Canada some time last year I believe (or at least that’s when I started seeing it at SDM). Amie is a skincare brand from England which takes pride in their products containing no parabens, mineral oils, petrochemicals or animal extracts (perfect for all my vegan friends). I would say in terms of performance that it is closer to the Balea/Life Brand wipes, however not as moist. I do like the woven texture of these wipes, and although it is “fragrance free” it still has a very light and fresh scent. Would definitely recommend over the Yes to line (both price and quality).

Bioderma Sensibio Micellar Solution ($32 at Shoppers Drug Mart…can you tell I love that store?!) – This is a favourite among the beauty blogging/youtuber community. Since wipes don’t take 100% of makeup off, I generally follow up with some Bioderma on cotton rounds. This is formulated for sensitive skin so it definitely does not irritate – but my favourite thing about this product appeals to my lazy side – it does not need to be rinsed off. It’s so gentle that it could be water (but don’t drink it lol). I will always have a bottle of Bioderma in my skincare lineup. This is possibly one of the best beauty staples to have in your collection.

I only started trying cleansing oils within the last year. At first I was skeptical about how these would work but after trying them, I’ve found a definite favourite.

Shu Uemura Porefinist Anti-Shine Fresh Cleansing Oil ($38 for 150ml, $82 for 450ml, available at Hudson’s Bay, Holt Renfrew, select Canadian Sephora stores, and shuuemura.ca) – Shu Uemura is probably synonymous with “best in the cleansing oil game.” From shuuemura.ca: “In 1967, Mr. Uemura made history by introducing the first oil-based cleanser to japan. the cleansing oil’s exceptional reputation and gentle effectiveness quickly convinced the public of its skincare benefits and is now an emblematic product of the Shu Uemura brand. […]While working as a makeup artist in Hollywood in the late 1950’s, Shu Uemura discovered Unmask, an oil-based cleanser used by film stars and makeup artists on the set. Applying heavy stage makeup multiple times daily, actresses often often developed sensitive skin from harsh make-up removers. Uemura saw that the cleansing oil removed make-up gently, yet effectively, while maintaining the skin’s natural level of moisture.” This is my Holy Grail remover. It is gentle, effective, and manages my oily skin while never drying it out. It is a splurge, however you don’t need too much to take off a full face of makeup. I LOVE this product

Ours by Cheryl Hickey 3-in-1 Cleansing Oil ($14.99 at Rexall) – I noticed this line at Rexall earlier this year and was intrigued. Cheryl Hickey is a Canadian TV personality and her range of products have been formulated to be free of most common allergens, silcones, petrochemicals, parabens, dyes, etc. I figured at a drugstore price point and a greener option that it was worth a try. For me, it was not a hit unfortunately. I don’t know if I have sensitive eyes or what not, but this oil made my eyes burn. This is also apparently suitable as a body cleanser and shave oil (and if you watched my last video, you’ll know that I’ve never had to shave my legs in my life so…) I’d say it’s worth a try if you don’t have sensitive eyes, or enjoy shaving with oils, but it was just not for me. I am still probably going to give other products from the range a try though because I do enjoy supporting Canadian brands!

What are your favourite makeup removing products? Let me know by leaving a comment! Thanks so much for stopping by!

 

5 thoughts on “Makeup Remover Roundup

  1. Jil says:

    Great post! I’ll definitely keep an eye out for the Amie one, they sound like a fun new wipe to try. But I do love me some Bioderma too…

  2. Charley Reese says:

    I am big on double cleansing, first with a makeup remover then a cleanser of my choice. I love the MAC Cleanse Off Oil but I am running low and wanted to try the Shu Uemura Porefinist Anti-Shine Fresh Cleansing Oil. So glad I read your review. Now I have no hesitation and will definitely purchase it on my next trip to Sephora !!!

Leave a Reply

