QUICK REVIEW: Fresh Black Tea Instant Perfecting Mask

Hello everyone! I am slowly but surely still making my way through my mask sample stash. Tonight, I decided to try the Fresh Black Tea Instant Perfecting Mask from Sephora.
blackteamaskFrom Sephora.com: Black Tea Instant Perfecting Mask with advanced antioxidants is a hydrating treatment that immediately reveals softer, firmer, healthier-looking skin. The innovative formula’s velvety whipped texture has an immediate cooling effect to refresh the skin and the senses. Black tea ferment, also known as Kombucha, is an advanced antioxidant that helps to defend against wrinkle-causing free radicals while softening, smoothing, and enhancing luster. The formula is further enriched with lychee seed extract, known to support natural collagen, firming polysaccharides that help to smooth the skin, and jicima root juice, notable for its hydrating and nourishing properties.
PROS: The cooling effect is pretty intense at first – cooling to the point of almost burning but after about 5 minutes it feels nice (or has my face just gone numb from the burning?) My skin felt smooth and firm and my complexion seemed to be pretty even right after. Not as soft as after I’ve used other masks, but the results are favorable.
CONS: This is the worst smelling mask I have ever tried. I don’t know if it’s the kombucha aspect, but it smells like sour rotten vegetables.
Would I Buy the Full Size? Absolutely not. It’s ridiculously overpriced ($108 CDN – get out of here) and the results are not enough to compensate for the horrendous scent. If you love the smell of kombucha then this might be for you. I still prefer subtle sweeter scents or unscented products for my face so this was definitely not my cup of tea. (Badum tss!)

Have you tried this mask before? Are you a kombucha fan? Let me know! Thanks so much for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “QUICK REVIEW: Fresh Black Tea Instant Perfecting Mask

  1. Chelsea @ Olive & Ivy says:

    $108?!?!? Holy!! That’s crazy, haha. Especially if it smells like rotten vegetables… eek. I love trying new masks though- I just tried Glamglow Thirstymud last night (overnight) and my skin has never been more soft!

    • staygorgeous says:

      Glamglow is too expensive for me to justify as well (I think it’s $76 or something). Thirstymud smells so nice though (that’s the one that smells like coconut right?)

Leave a Reply

