Goals!

Hello everyone! So I know most people posted their goals at the beginning of January or made resolutions but I actually hate the term “resolution”. In my experience, everyone who says that they resolve to….etc end up breaking their resolutions and falling off the wagon completely. I also believe that goals should be constantly added and sometimes modified to suit your life and things that may come up in between. It’s easy to say, by such and such time, I will have saved x amount of $$ to go _________. What people don’t take into account is that life happens…and even if you have to change the “by when” time, it doesn’t mean you have to give up! Anyway, here are my current goals:

1. By May, I will have cut my individual paddling time to 3 minutes. (My current time is 4:40, which apparently is the amount of time it would take me to paddle 500m by myself)
dragon-boat-racingMany people don’t know this yet, but I have joined a dragon boat team and I had my first practice/training session yesterday. For those who are unfamiliar with dragon boat racing, it is a sport that originated in – you guessed it – China. It involves a long boat that has a Chinese dragon on the front and a hell of a ton of paddling. First rule of dragon boat racing: do NOT call it rowing.
paddlin2. Have 1000 YouTube subscribers by the end of 2015.
youtubeIf you haven’t checked out my channel yet  – please go do that immediately if not sooner! I am currently at 526 so I’m halfway there. I don’t have anything special planned to increase my audience…my aim is just to keep doing what I’m doing, improve my editing skills (perhaps get an actual editing tool as opposed to just iMovie), and network while I am out in the real world. I will not do giveaways to gain subscribers; it’s just not my style. Will I ever do a giveaway? Yes, definitely in the future – and I may try to come up with a way to do a thank you giveaway for my current subscribers…but I need to look into the logistics and such of that first. Regardless, I am so grateful for the 526 I have now. For having my channel up for only 8 months and having just over 20 videos, I am very pleased and proud of myself for finally taking the plunge (even though it was scary) and glad that people have given me a chance to talk at them about all things makeup. So thank you everyone – I truly appreciate you!

3. Read 20 books by the end of 2015.
tsundokuSo a few years back while I was working at Chapters (which definitely helped), I took the 50 book pledge, which is where you commit to reading 50 books within the year. I’ve always loved reading so meeting that goal wasn’t too challenging. Since then however, my reading time has decreased significantly (thank you YouTube, iPad, etc) and I am definitely not reading as much as I used to. 50 is too much for me right now, but I think 20 would be a good goal. As of right now, I have read 1. Soooooo I guess I better get cracking!

What are your current goals? Have you written your goals? What do you do to stay motivated? Let me know in the comments, and thank you for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Goals!

Leave a Reply

