Cover Girl Spring 2015 Eyeshadow Quads: Review + Swatches!

Hello everyone! I gave up on drugstore eyeshadow a while ago because I was unimpressed with the formulations (with the exception of the Maybelline Colour Tattoos). However, I recently decided to give them another chance during my latest drugstore makeup haul and what do you know?! I was thoroughly impressed! I first picked up the Cover Girl Va-Va Violets quad at Shoppers Drug Mart, then got Notice Me Nudes for free at Loblaws Superstore (check out my haul video that I linked for the full story), and then decided to get Stunning Smokeys during my 2nd stop into Target for liquidation deals (30% off makeup – YUP).
image4Stunning Smokeys at the top, Va-Va Violets in the middle, and Notice Me Nudes on the bottom. The numbers basically tell you the steps to apply the shadows, from the Cover Girl website:

1. Illuminate. Cover the base of your eye from lash line to brow bone (I only used it as a brow bone highlight)

2. Enrich. Sweep your eyelid gently with a pop of rich color

3. Frame. Blend each shade into the crease along the outer half of the eyelid.

4. Intensify. Contour by Apply Shadow along your eye line emphasizing the outer corner. (smoke it out!)

But really, this is what you came for:

image1No primer, natural light. Closest to my wrist is Notice Me Nudes, followed by Va-Va Violets and Stunning Smokeys. As you can see, they do vary in textures from quad to quad and it should come as no surprise that the Notice Me Nudes are my favourite of the bunch.
image3This is probably the best drugstore neutral palette I’ve ever used. This one had no fallout, and the shadows were almost buttery and easily blendable. These shades are not unique by any means, but the quality is fantastic.
image2Va-Va Violets is decent. There was a little bit of chalkiness and as you can see, this one definitely needs a primer to get full pigmentation. The colours are really pretty and also easily buildable and blendable, and I was definitely complimented when I wore it.
image1Finally, we have Stunning Smokeys. Again, primer definitely helps bring out the richness in colour for this one, and I am totally in love with the shimmery brown-bronze shade 2nd from the left. The darker mattes are a little chalky, but apparently that is the case with a lot of drugstore matte shadows – but it’s not a deal breaker.

All in all, these are definitely a great choice for drugstore eyeshadows. Cover Girl has yet again stepped up their game, and has helped rekindle my faith in drugstore makeup. I am contemplating doing a tutorial using these quads…maybe.

Have you tried these yet? Let me know if you have, or let me know if you’d like to see a tutorial using one or all of these quads! Thanks so much for stopping by, and remember to check out my YouTube channel, follow me on Twitter, or Instagram!

One thought on “Cover Girl Spring 2015 Eyeshadow Quads: Review + Swatches!

Leave a Reply

