Sephora VIB Rouge: YSL Masterclass Event

Hello everyone! Last night I had the opportunity to attend an exclusive VIB Rouge event at the Sephora at the Eaton Centre in downtown Toronto. It was a masterclass/demonstration by the Creative Director of Yves Saint Laurent Beauty, Lloyd Simmonds.
I decided to invite Kaitlyn since we were allowed to bring a friend, and who else would I bring that would support/enable beauty purchases?
image6Upon entering, we were given a goodie bag that included samples of their waterproof eyeliner, Touche Eclat, and a YSL pocket mirror, then virgin sparkling beverages and GLITTERY truffles. Seriously, I ate glitter – whaaaaat.
image1They were featuring a bunch of different products, including the new Volupte Tint-in-Oil lip oils. They also offered 15-minute makeovers, however both Kaitlyn and I were exhausted and couldn’t stay too late (3 cheers for careers!)
image5This was also on a counter…if anyone wants to get this for me – HOOK ME UP, BRO!
image3These are the Volupte Tint-in-Oils – there are 8 colours in total.
image4I believe this was #5 – Cherry My Cherie, which Kaitlyn ended up purchasing (I bought #1 – Drive Me Copper). The wand/applicator is actually a tiny set of lips! I didn’t notice until one of the makeup artists pointed it out to me. I also got to try the new Le Teint Encre de Peau (Fusion Ink) foundation and it made my skin look flawless – so I may have to pick it up once I finish my Chanel and Maybelline (will definitely be talking about that one in my January Favourites).
image7There were so many people so I couldn’t get too close, but here’s Mr. Simmonds working his magic on the gorgeous model.
image9It was pretty cool to try a bunch of YSL products – and we also received a gift with purchase: a YSL folio-sketchbook!
The new Volupte Tint-in-Oils are quite amazing! They contain apricot kernel oil, coriander fruit oil, jojoba seed oil, and possiflora edulis seed oil, so your lips stay extremely hydrated and smooth, and smell so good. Now they are not a full-colour lip product so if you’re looking for bold pigmentation – these are not for you. What I love about it is that as the oil gets absorbed into the lips, the tint stays and almost stains, and the colour will get a bit bolder the more you reapply. The colour I chose, Drive Me Copper, is probably one of the most neutral choices. When it builds in colour, it pretty much looks like my natural lip colour that is slightly brighter and even amplified which is an effect that I enjoy. My lips have never felt so moisturized and soft – and with such a lightweight product!
This is NOT a lip gloss; it is a lip oil. It retails for $35 CDN so it is a bit of a splurge, but I’d say for the formulation and of course the gorgeous YSL packaging, totally worth it.

Thanks to Kaitlyn for coming with me and thanks to Sephora for arranging such an awesome event!

…and of course, thank YOU for stopping by! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sephora VIB Rouge: YSL Masterclass Event

Leave a Reply

