The CBIA Canadian Beauty Ball

Hello everyone! On Saturday, October 18th, I had the pleasure of attending the Canadian Beauty Ball (for the Canadian Beauty Innovation Awards) with Kaitlyn. She won tickets to this special event and I was so honoured she invited me to go with her! We were also joined by Jenn from Canadian Beauty Bloggers who I believe ran the giveaway. We arrived really early to the venue (Heritage Building/Cambria showroom King St E downtown Toronto) and walked around, checking out the nominees and talking to some amazing entrepreneurs. There were hors d’oeuvres and fancy drinks and some people were dressed to the nines.
image_7                                         Me, Kaitlyn, and Jenn on the red carpet!

image_4Corpa Flora – winner of the 2014 Canadian Beauty Innovation Award

It was really cool to see all the Canadian-made products and learn about some up and coming local businesses. Lots of companies are really focused on green beauty – so lots of natural and organic ingredients.

image_2Mini Organics – founder is from Australia, but business is now based in BC (if I recall correctly)image_5Kaia Naturals Juicy Bamboo Facial Cleansing Cloths – which I have already reviewed!

The actual awards show portion was hosted by the beautiful Traci Melchor (eTalk reporter and co-host of The Social).
image_8                      Absolutely stunning onstage, on the red carpet, and in real life!

The winners at the 2014 Canadian Beauty Innovation Awards are: (from the CBIA site just because it’s easier lol)

DermaQuest, 3D Complex Stem Cell 3D, Best Anti-Aging Product

Kaia Naturals, Juicy Bamboo Cleansing Clothes, Best Natural/Organic Brand

MIYU, Hydrate Mi Beauty, Best Product Launch (I bought their Hydrate Mi tea – it’s SO delicious and SO good for you!)

ARIA, Ultimate Style Set, Consumers Choice Award

CorpaFlora, Beautè Divine, the award of the night, The Canadian Beauty Innovation Award

I hope to have the chance to try the winning products at some point – and I really lucked out and received tons of freebies in the swag bag at the end of the night.
freebiesI purchased the Miyu Beauty Hydrate Mi tea, but everything else was free! Kaia Naturals Juicy Bamboo Cleansing Cloth sample, full sized versions of Elucx Miracle Balm, Cara’s All Natural Luxury Dry Face Wash, Purity Cosmetics 100% Pure Dark Chocolate Pigmented Ultra Lengthening mascara, Marie Natie Natural eyeliner, and a sample of the Illumalift Brightening cream! I have so much beauty stuff as is that I haven’t gotten to try many of these things yet, but I will try to post some details as I get to them.
All in all, I had a really great time (despite my feet being really angry after standing and walking around in heels for a few hours) and I am grateful to have had the chance to see some awesome beauty goodies. Thank you so much for thinking of me Kaitlyn! If you haven’t checked out her blog, I linked it up in the first paragraph so show her some love!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “The CBIA Canadian Beauty Ball

  1. Nalan says:

    Most of the vendors were extremely disappointed in this show, being placed in an appliance store with almost no traffic. Staff were also complaining about it. It was a complete write-off for most vendors. I was not impressed by this show at all

    • staygorgeous says:

      yes, I agree it was a strange venue. Considering it was their first one though, perhaps they’ve learned from their mistakes and will put it somewhere more consumer-vendor friendly.

Leave a Reply

