Quick Review: Masks!

Hello everyone! I am going to do a quick review/comparison of 2 well-known face masks/treatments. So a few months ago at the Sephora VIB Rouge event, I picked up a bunch of samples which included the First Aid Beauty Purifying Mask with Red Clay and the Glamglow Powermud Dualcleanse Treatment Mask. This will not be super in-depth, but I hope it’s helpful if you’re looking to try a new mask!

First Aid Beauty Purifying Mask with Red Clay

firstaidmaskFrom Sephora.com: This mask treatment delivers immediately visible results akin to a professional treatment. In just 20 minutes the mask detoxifies and deeply purifies the complexion by drawing out skin impurities with a potent concentration of red clay. It regulates excess sebum, and eliminates clogged pores. In addition, mineral rich red clay reduces congestive pigmentation in problem areas where pimples previously formed and improves the skin’s texture. As the mask is peeled away, skin looks smoother, softer, and refreshed while pores appear visibly reduced.
PROS: Skin felt extremely smooth, soft, and hydrated. Didn’t notice pores but I don’t have huge visible pores anyway.
CONS: Looks really gross on your face due to the red clay, looks even grosser peeling it off.
Would I Buy the Full Size? Hmmm on the fence with this one. The only drawback is how it looks on my face…but the outcome was pretty good so I would put this high on my list of products to consider.

Glamglow Powermud Dual Cleansing Treatment Mask

powermudFrom Sephora.com: It features OILIXER™, which is a custom blended complex of four powerful, rare, non-greasy, and fast-absorbing deep cleansing oils. CLAYTOX™ is a carefully balanced four-clay blend specifically developed to provide an ultragentle skin detoxification for a maximum yet delicate cleanse. And PUREIFIER™ is a complex mix of cleansers, astringents, and exfoliators, working in synergy to dramatically purify and condition the skin.

PROS: Got rid of tiny blackheads, skin felt fresh, clean, and smooth.
CONS: Perhaps it’s a little TOO effective since a day or so after, I got 2-3 zits. I know I know, it’s detoxifying my skin and so on but still – kinda annoying! I generally only get 1 zit  due to hormones every month so I’m just not used to having more than 1 on my face at once.
Would I Buy the Full Size? HELL NO. At a whopping $76 – there are definitely gentler and just as effective ways to take care of my face. I’m a diehard Kiehl’s Ultra Facial fan anyway – if they released a mask in that line I would probably pick that one up. I occasionally do use the Kiehl’s Rare Earth Deep Pre Cleansing Mask and that one is decent/generally does the trick. I also enjoy that it works as a spot treatment too to help calm zits down!

What is your favourite mask? Let me know because I am beginning to become more interested in facial masks! Thanks so much for stopping by, and don’t forget to check out/subscribe to my YouTube channel!

One thought on “Quick Review: Masks!

Leave a Reply

