Try All of the Things!

Hello everyone! I decided to try some of my newer products I’ve procured recently today and give you a mini-review/first impressions post about it all. I’m silly and attempted to transport all of them downstairs in my hands while holding my phone and ended up dropping the Essence blush and pretty much destroyed it. Fortunately it was only $4 so I’m not super broken up about it…and there’s still about a third/almost half left so it’s all good. Had it been my Dior Cannage, I’d be having a full on meltdown.

Anyway, here is what I played with today:

image_4
-Benefit They’re Real! Push Up Liner
-Essence Cookies and Cream eyeshadows: Macaron, C’est Bon and Last Night a Cookie Saved my life
-Essence Cookies and Cream baked blush in Cake Pop, That’s Top!
-Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Ingenue
-L’Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga (Waterproof) mascara in Blackest Black

The “look” I “created” (created sounds weird, I just put makeup on my face, I didn’t make anything lol)

image_1
Everything else I’m wearing:
-Bobbi Brown Corrector in Light Peach
-Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Medium
-Tarte Amazonian Clay Airbrush Foundation in Light Medium Neutral
-Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Multi-colour powder/bronzer No. 02
-theBalm Mary Lou-manizer highlighter
-Cle de Peau eyebrow pencil #204
-Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Original
-Urban Decay 24/7 Eyeliner in Perversion

Closeup of the eyeshadows and liner:

image_2
just a bit closer (sorry about the brightness/lack of contrast):

image_3
Ok so I used Macaron, C’est Bon on my lid and as a highlight. It’s a really pretty light pink pearl shade and had no fallout. Very impressive in terms of pigmentation and application for this one, especially since it was only $2.49! I was slightly disappointed with Last Night, A Cookie Saved My Life which is a taupe with a bit of a light brown (milk chocolate?) lean. The colour in the pan is beautiful but when applied, the pigmentation was low performing. I had to really pack it on because it blended out completely, so IMO this colour really shows the price point. So you can skip this darker one, but the Macaron, C’est Bon! is definitely worth it.

image_5
This is the new Benefit They’re Real! Push Up Liner – deluxe sample size from Sephora. You have to twist the bottom of it to bring the product up to the rubber tip. The first time doing it, you have to twist it quite a bit to get the product going and there’s definitely a learning curve when using this. It’s a gel liner so it should have the awesome staying power as all other gel liners in the market. At first I was a little worried about the rubber tip but what I like about it is how precise of a line you can get with it. You just have to practice turning it so that way you can use the angle of the tip effectively but overall it is fairly impressive. I would say that this might be even easier than using a separate brush for gel liner, especially if you’re a beginner and still have shaky hands (we’ve all been there). I would absolutely consider purchasing the full size when I run out of my Bobbi Brown gel liner just for the convenience of having it in 1 tube which makes it very travel friendly.

image_6
Check out that wand for the L’Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga mascara. It’s flexible and the actual brush is great for getting the small lashes on the inner and outer corners with the smaller tip. The flexibility aka shakiness was a little off-putting at first but I think it made it easier to apply and there was no clumping. When I pulled it out of the tube, I wiped some of the excess off on the side since it is a VERY wet formula. My first instinct was “uh oh, it’s probably going to weigh my lashes down” but it’s actually fairly decent. It’s holding up pretty well for now but we’ll see in a few hours. It doesn’t lengthen and volumize as much as my beloved holy grail mascara, the Lancome Hypnose Drama Waterproof – but for a drugstore mascara on me, first impression is all in all, satisfactory. I’ll continue to use this for the next little while and see if it grows on me.

image_7
I picked up Ingenue knowing it’d be a nude colour and yep, there it is. Light pink with a nude lean and it does contain a bit of shimmer. You don’t feel the actual particles which is nice, but I think the shimmer is a bit unnecessary. It’s not extremely glossy for being called a lacquer finish but ennhhhh it’s not a dealbreaker. So far it doesn’t seem drying but it’s not super moisturizing…the colour is nice but I’d prefer it to be a bit creamier/glossier (like the Soap and Glory Sexy Motherpucker Gloss Sticks). This one is so-so. I probably won’t be going back for more of these so unless you see a must-have colour, there are better lip crayons out there.

Anyway that’s it for now, thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

