Drugstore Haul June 2014!

Hello everyone! So I went to Shopper’s Drug Mart today because…

1. I needed some motivation to do some report card editing and a ton of marking
2. I had an Optimum bonus points coupon for a makeup purchase
3. The new L’Oreal Miss Manga mascara finally arrived in Canada and is on sale this week at Shoppers for $6.99

Beauty bribery at its’ finest. So I figured a haul post was in order! Now I haven’t had much luck with drugstore mascaras (Maybelline Colossal Cat Eyes was ok but dried out WAY too quickly and CoverGirl Clump Crusher was too wet and weighed my lashes down) so we’ll see how the Miss Manga works out. I will post a mini-review/first impressions as soon as I try it! I’ve also never purchased any Essence products before but after hearing some good things on YouTube, I decided to venture into the Essence world through their limited edition Cookies and Cream collection. Scroll down for swatches if you’re impatient 😉

I picked up:
-L’Oreal Voluminous Miss Manga Waterproof in Blackest Black (on sale this week for $6.99)
-Revlon Colorburst Lacquer Balm in Ingenue (on sale this week for $5.99)
-Essence Cookies and Cream LE eyeshadows in Macaron, C’est Bon! and Last Night a Cookie Saved My Life! ($2.49 each)
-Essence Cookies and Cream LE blush in Cakepop, That’s Top! ($3.99)

photo 1

Here are the blush and eyeshadows heavily swatched: (Cakepop, That’s Top!, Macaron, C’est Bon!, and Last Night a Cookie Saved My Life!)

photo 2
Pigmentation on all 3 is pretty damn amazing considering they’re each under $5. I knew they’d be decent because I did use a couple of Essence eyeshadows on kids for the school musical – but I’m impressed with the baked formula/texture. The eyeshadows seemed just a little chalky when I swatched but I will get a better idea when I actually go to use them in an eyeshadow look. The blush is a beautiful bright coral with a pink sheen and looks perfect for the summer. I’ll definitely post a picture when I use these all ASAP.

photo 4
Here’s a swatch of the Revlon Lacquer Balm in Ingenue. It is a sheer pink-brown with a bit of a sheen. I picked this because it seemed like it’d be a decent everyday/MLBB colour. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know I didn’t like the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains as I found they were drying, but since these are newer and were on sale, I decided to give it a go. Pardon the dry hands – was doing dishes like a fiend!
photo 5
Finally, here’s the adorable packaging on the mascara. I’m interested to try this out since it apparently has a flexible wand that actually moves as you apply it to your lashes. Will definitely keep you all updated.

Anyway I’ll keep this short and sweet – stay tuned for reviews on these products! Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

