TAG: YouTube Made Me Do It

Hello everyone! It’s February and usually I’d be posting a Favourites entry but to be honest, everything I’d been using all last month has already been mentioned in previous posts, and I don’t think it’d be super interesting. I will say that February favourites will include newer products that I have picked up basically mid-end of January. Anyway to make up for it, I decided to do the “YouTube Made Me Do It” tag, wherein I show you products I have purchased based on YouTube videos/beauty gurus. Here we go!

One of my favourite and most trusted beauty guru’s on YT is Rae from The Raeviewer. She, like most of the others I subscribe to, lives in the States and I believe she is a makeup artist as well as a blogger. I trust all of her reviews because she is very honest and knowledgeable, and there is not a single thing that she’s recommended that I’ve bought and regretted. Most of my high end purchases have been because of her!

Raeview approved (clockwise from top left):
-Lancome Hypnose Drama Waterproof mascara (they finally ship to Canada from the Sephora site!)
-Chanel Glossimer in Volupte
-Chanel Rouge Allure in Pimpante
-Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light
-Chanel Les 4 Ombres Quadra Eyeshadow Palette #39 Raffinement
-Poudre Signee de Chanel
-Tarte Amazonian Clay Matte Waterproof Bronzer in Park Ave Princess
-Cle de Peau eyebrown pencil #204
-Kevyn Aucoin The Celestial Powder in Candelight
-Shu Uemura X Raeview palette
***forgot to include Lancome Gloss in Love in Peach Show – oops!***

20140201-204220.jpg

So if you know me, you know I friggin LOVE essiebutton. She is originally from Ontario, Canada and resides in England with her boyfriend, Aslan, and their lovely greyhound, Reggie. Now, sometimes it’s hard to relate to her in terms of makeup mostly because she is fair skinned whereas I am definitely more medium in skin tone, but damn it she’s just so cool and always looks flawless that I can’t help but just buy almost anything and everything she recommends.

Estee’s influences:
-Mac lipsticks: Plumful, See Sheer, and Crosswires
-Mac eyeshadows – Ricepaper, Soba, Quarry, and Satin Taupe
-Sleek Blush by 3 Palette in Lace
-Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer (I wear it in Medium)
-theBalm Mary Lou-manizer
-Tarte blushes: Natural Beauty and Tipsy

20140201-204249.jpg

Another Asian beauty guru I follow is Jen from frmheadtotoe. She is friends with Rae (and would love to see a collab one day!) and I’ve learned most of my basic skills from her. I find her tutorials helpful because she addresses Asian facial characteristics (monolids, flat eyelids, eyebrows that grow in 2 different directions) and she suggests great products.

Frmheadtotoe favourites:
-Too Faced La Creme lipstick in Honey Bear
-Nyx blush in Cinnamon
-Nyx Mosaic Powder in Highlight
-Rimmel Scandaleyes Kohl Kajal pencil in Nude
-Sigma F40 Large Angled Contour brush

20140201-204321.jpg

Finally, here are just a bunch of products that I’d seen over and over again throughout YouTube from all the aforementioned plus all the other popular gurus (ie: Missglamorazzi, Tanya Burr, Zoella, Amarixe, etc). When I go to buy something, 99% of the time, I look for a review first, or have been influenced by something I’ve watched.

YouTube beauty community picks:
-Real Techniques brushes
-Sigma brushes
-Urban Decay Naked Palette and Naked Basics
-Jouer Matte Moisture Tint
-Maybelline Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze
-Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso

20140201-204355.jpg

So there you have it – this is what YouTube has done to me! Stay tuned for some more drugstore finds and maybe even some nailpolish. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

