First Drugstore Makeup Haul of 2014!

Hello everyone! Sorry for the delay – I was without internet for *gasp* a day and just haven’t been home and had time to just sit and blog. Anyway, after watching tons of haul videos on YouTube and being bummed out because of the extreme cold and grey weather, I was extremely intrigued and decided to pick up some drugstore makeup (especially since the holiday bills are in/Blue Monday/yikes!) I must say, drugstore makeup has really kicked it up a notch for Spring 2014. I have never been so interested in and enjoyed so many drugstore releases in such a short period of time! Here is my haul from Loblaw’s Superstore and Target:

20140120-233651.jpg

I’ve tried all of these now so here are my first impressions! Please let me know in the comments if you’d like to see a more extensive review or swatch of a certain product! First up is the Rimmel Stay Matte Primer which claims to control shine for up to 8 hours. It DEFINITELY does! The first day I wore it, it kept me matte for almost 12 hours (mind you it was a very easy going day so no stress, no heat, no sweating). The second day, I got a little sweaty so the shine came through after about 6 hours, but I just blotted and then applied some of the new…

rimmel
Covergirl TruMagic Skin Perfector!! I was lucky to have a manufacturer’s coupon (because I am occasionally a couponer) AND a Target coupon that was able to be used together. This formula is pretty much like a balm which seems odd but somehow just works. I picked it up in “The Perfector” (there’s also “The Sunkisser” which is a bronzer, and “The Luminizer” which is a highlight, however according to Beauty Broadcast, it just makes you glittery, which is definitely not how you want a highlighting product to look). I’ve used it after blotting and it just works to mattify again. I have yet to use it as a primer, but maybe I’ll give it a go soon.
covergirl
This is the new Maybelline Face Studio Master Hi-Light in Nude. It is pretty sheer and comes out as a warm champagne, so very subtle but beautifully buildable! This is definitely a fantastic higher price point drugstore (it was 14.99 – whaaaaat?) highlighter, especially if you don’t want to spend upwards of $20-$70, and I like that it’s not as stark as theBalm’s Mary Lou-manizer can be (if you’re heavy handed).
maybelline
So I decided to finally see what the hubbub was all about over the Milani face products I kept seeing on YouTube. Here is the Baked Blush in Luminoso which is a beautiful deeper peach and the Illuminating Face Powder in Amber Nectar…which also has a peach lean. Luminoso is extremely pigmented (so use a light hand) so it’s definitely a great bang for your buck item. I almost regret buying Amber Nectar just because it is SO sheer that you really need to layer it on in order to see any highlighting payoff. It’s pretty since it goes well with peach and coral toned blushes, but it’s not special enough to actually be a standout in my highlight collection. If I could return it, I totally would.
milani
I’d be eye-ing and humming and hah-ing over the Revlon Super Lustrous Lipgloss in Berry Allure since the Fall (and was kinda hoping it would be in my stocking). I finally picked it up this week at Target because it was on CRAZY sale for only $3.49! They’re regularly $8.99 and up so I was pleasantly surprised. I wouldn’t have paid that much for it, but at less than $4, I couldn’t resist.
revlon
Revlon really nailed it with this gloss as it doesn’t have that weird sickly sweet makeup smell that some of the other glosses have, and it feels relatively thin and not sticky. The colour payoff is pretty awesome for a drugstore gloss…I almost wish I had picked up more but really, I just wanted this shade.

Finally, we have nail polish. The moment I saw “Lips Are Dripping in Honey” from the Carrie Underwood Nicole by OPI collection, I knew I had to have it. It’s a gold hexagonal glitter polish with a clear base that shines with almost multicoloured sparkle. I also picked up the Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure polish in “Back to the Fuschia”. I love the bright pink since it’s so cheery. The brush is also pure nail polish application PERFECTION. It’s slightly pointed but makes one swipe cover your entire nail without going (too much) on the edges (if you’re me and not the best at applying nailpolish.) While they haven’t actually chipped in 3 or 4 days, the tips are starting to…uhh…recede? Is that the proper term? Idk it’s only really noticeable if you’re staring at my nails up close so all in all, not too shabby.
polish
Here they are on…with the glitter accent obvi.
nails
Anyway that’ll do it for my first drugstore makeup haul of 2014. Feel free to leave any questions about any of the products or to let me know about what you’ve picked up or are hoping to try – especially if you’ve tried the Maybelline Baby Skin primer since that also intrigues me. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

