2013 Favourites!!

Hello everyone and Happy New Year!! I hope you’ve all had a wonderful holiday season and have started off 2014 with a bang! First things first – feel free to follow me on Twitter!! See my feed on the right side bar 🙂
So this past year has been filled with a lot of fun and of course, a lot of makeup. When I first started getting into makeup, I was buying everything. As I’ve learned more, I’ve been choosing things more carefully and have therefore found my core set of products that I absolutely love. Everyone’s doing different formats for their 2013 favourites, whether it’s hits/misses or best of, categories, etc. I chose these favourites based on how often I used them over the year and basically what I reach for whether I know what I want to do or not. Some things I’ve omitted (UD Eyeshadow Primer Potion, because really – it’s a staple) but for the most part, I thought long and hard and stayed true. Without further ado, here are my favourite products from 2013!!

yrfaves
COMPLEXION:
yrface
-Jouer Matte Moisture Tint in Chamomile (as you can see from the pic, I’ve definitely been using it regularly. I’ve only recently started alternating again between this and my Dior Hydralife BB Creme, but I prefer this one hands down because it keeps me mostly matte, but still looking natural)
-Bobbi Brown Corrector in Light Peach (I’d heard about it over and over and didn’t have the opportunity to try it out until this Fall, and I LOVE it. I’ve been using it everyday under my concealer and it brightens my under eyes like nobody’s business)
-Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in #3 Medium (ordered off of eBay since it is only available in the UK – will definitely be ordering again soon as I’ve also been using this daily. It’s creamy but dries to a powder finish and provides excellent coverage for my dark circles.)
-Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light (the perfect setting powder – pale yellow toned to neutralize redness and gives my skin a natural looking glow. Although I was one of the lucky ones who snagged the coveted Ambient Lighting Palette that was released for the holidays, I still prefer and use Diffused Light on the daily. )
-Urban Decay De-Slick Setting Spray (ok to be fair I only picked this one up recently – but HOLY CRAP I am blown away! It keeps my makeup from melting away AND I never look oily! I got the smaller bottle just to try it out, but believe me, I will DEFINITELY buy the full sized bottle when this one runs out.)

EYES:
yreyes
-Urban Decay Naked Palette (the original, oh how I love thee! It is SO versatile and I love all the varieties of looks I can create with it. I will love this palette forever.)
-Urban Decay Naked Basics (my everyday work makeup. I’m almost hitting pan on a couple of the shades!)
-Laura Mercier Artists Palette (when I want a bit more colour that’s still neutral friendly, I can rely on this wonderful collection of super soft and pigmented and easily blendable shadows.)
-Lancome Hypnose Drama Waterproof (best mascara I have ever used. My lashes point straight down. This one helps them stay up after being curled.)
-Cle de Peau Eyebrow pencil #204 (my only eyebrow pencil I use now. When I first started doing my own makeup I was using the Diorshow Browstyler…why nobody told me it was too brown is beyond me. CDP #204 is gray-black perfection.)
-Bobbi Brown Long Wear Gel Eyeliner in Caviar Ink (to be fair, I think this is only a fave in conjunction with the Bobbi Brown Ultra Fine Liner brush…but it’s the perfect almost black gel liner and SO creamy and easy to apply…and take off!)
-Maybelline Line Stiletto (best liquid liner hands down. I use Blackest Black or Brownish Black almost every single day!)

BLUSH, BRONZER, HIGHLIGHTER:
yrcolours
-Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hour Blush in Tipsy (coral-tangerine), and Dollface (pink) (I love the Tarte blushes…Tipsy was perfect for Spring/Summer, whereas Dollface has been awesome all year long!)
-Tarte Amazonian Clay Matte Waterproof Bronzer in Park Ave Princess (I use this for contouring as well as bronzing…and as you can see, I’ve hit pan on it!)
-Chanel Poudre Signee de Chanel (I’m sorry but not sorry to include this highlighting powder. This was a limited edition item from the Spring 2013 line and it is highlighting PERFECTION. Every single time I wear it, I get compliments. I’ve reserved this one now mostly for special occasions or when I just want to feel extra pretty for the day.)
-Kevyn Aucoin The Celestial Powder in Candlelight (the perfect golden-champagne glow…there is only one place in Toronto that has this and it is Pir Cosmetics in Yorkville. If you wanna splurge a little (around $48 I think) and have a beautiful highlight, go for it!)
-theBalm Mary Lou-Manizer (SUPER shiny…use this with a light hand for a subtle shine, but if you don’t wanna be subtle, then this one is for you. This one is easier to find – Rexall sells theBalm and you can also find this online!)

LIPS:
yrlips
-Dior Diorific Lipstick in Diorling (this one was from the 2012 holiday collection and is my favourite red of all time. As you can see from the photo, I’ve mostly been sticking to peach/nudes but when I want red, this is my go to. It is a deeper true red and is showstopping and super rich and creamy on the lips. No liner required.)
-Shu Uemura Supreme Matte Lipstick in M BG 942 (the perfect matte nude lipcolour with a bit of a pinker lean. Super soft and hydrating. I usually pair this with the Gloss Unlimited BG 10 S also pictured above which some think might be counterproductive to the matte finish, but eh, I like the pigmentation the lipstick gives but the shine and dimension the gloss gives.)
-Bobbi Brown High Shimmer Lip Gloss in Naked Plum (EXTREMELY SHIMMERY but looks so pretty when the light hits my lips. The colour is exactly like you’d expect…a nude leaning sheer plum that provides a hint of colour, but its the shimmer that is the star of the show for sure.)
-Nyx Butter Lip Balm in Biscotti (I know some people like these because of their slight pigmentation, but surprise surprise, I like the nude coloured one. Smells sweet….reminds me of strawberry shortcake and keeps my lips hydrated. These are hard to find in Canada – I got mine at “Designer Cosmetics” found in Brampton, Guelph, and Toronto.)

CLEAN IT UP:
yrclean
-Balea 3 in 1 Cleansing Cloths (available at Shoppers Drug Mart and is on sale at least twice a month…takes off the majority of my makeup so I don’t feel as bad if I don’t follow up with Bioderma)
-Bioderma Sensibio Cleansing Water (I use this on cotton pads to help take off the rest of my makeup. I love that you don’t have to rinse anything off, and it doesn’t burn my eyes!)

MISCELLANEOUS:
yrmisc
-Oribe Royal Blowout Heat Styling Spray (this is by far the BEST hair product I have ever used. It does everything – helps your hair dry faster, provides shine, protects against heat, nourishes your strands, and basically makes your hair look awesome whether you air or blow dry.)
-Jo Malone cologne in Redcurrant and Cream (sorry, another limited edition – this was from the line with all of the dessert scented fragrances. One whiff of this and I was sold. I don’t wear perfume regularly, but when I do, I just want to smell delicious and this one definitely smells sweet.)

Well there you have it – my 2013 favourites. What were yours? Feel free to leave a message in the comments, or even a link to your best of 2013 post/video!

Thanks so much for stopping by and for all of your support throughout the past year. I may or may not be entertaining the idea of starting a YouTube channel…

Have a FANTASTIC 2014 and stay gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

