Late August Favourites!

Hello everyone! It’s been a while since I last posted and I know I said I’d do a review on my Marc Jacobs haul but things got super hectic. Here’s my brief two cents on MJ Beauty:

Must have: The MJ Shameless Bold Blush is gorgeous in its’ formulation. I picked it up in Tantalizing and it is so highly pigmented that you need to be sure to use a light hand or else you’ll look wacky.

Nice to have: the Lust for Lacquer Lip Vinyl (sheer) in Kissability has become one of my favourite lipglosses of all time. With its’ champagne grape infused formula, it gives a refreshing little tingle to your lips while giving you high shine with no stickiness. Kissability is described as a shimmering lilac pink which is still very natural, with a hint of a deeper berry to give your lips a little oomph. It is shimmery so I try to not wear it when I see my boyfriend since he doesn’t need shimmery lips – but it’s very small and not chunky at all. I generally prefer non-shimmer glosses but I love this one.

Returned: I ended up returning the Style Eye-Con 3 palette in The Glam. I just found that although the shadows were very buttery and pigmented, the colours were easily duped…and considering the $53 price point for 3 colours, it just wasn’t worth it for me. I’m basically a Naked or Naked Basics girl on the daily anyway.

Others: The Love Marc Lip Gel lipstick is pretty decent. It’s not life changing, but it’s very smooth, doesn’t feel dry, and lasts a pretty long time. I have it in Neo-Noir and yes, it has become my favourite red! The Enamored Nail Lacquer is the only thing I still haven’t tried yet…probs not until it gets cooler because I’m neurotic like that and feel that Jezebel is an awesome Fall colour.

Anyway, on to my August favourites! I’m a little late because I was very fortunate in getting a last minute teaching position. It is again not a permanent position, however with the challenges of seniority based hiring, I will take what I can get! Fortunately I am pretty familiar with the school (not the same one I was at last year, but one I had frequently supply-taught at 2 years ago) and the staff, so despite feeling a bit overwhelmed (first week is always chaotic), I’m happy and excited to be there. Alright alright, here we go:

makeup
So for August and carrying over into September, I have been consistently reaching for:
-Rimmel ScandalEyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal eyeliner in 005 Nude (great for the waterline to neutralize any redness due to fatigue)
-Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer in Medium 3 (HUGE in the UK – had to order it from eBay to see what it was all about. It’s light, feels like a cream to powder consistency, and is perfect for under my eyes! I will no longer use my Tarte Maracuja Oil Creaseless Concealer because this one is fantastic!)
-Marc Jacobs Shameless Bold Blush in Tantalizing (I’ve raved about this enough – go get one of these!)
-Mac Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul (my first Mac blush I bought a few years ago – I recently started using it again after a few YouTubers started mentioning it again and it has been my daily work blush)
-Mac eyeshadow in Naked Lunch (reminds me of a more subtle Stila Kitten and I’ve been using it every day with Naked Basics as the browbone highlight. Pretty sure this will also work and be gorgeous as a regular facial highlighter.)
-L’Oreal Infallible pressed eyeshadow in Amber Rush – picked this up for $4.94 at my local Real Canadian Superstore (aka Loblaws) and have loved it! I really wanted Chopper from UD to look like this, but it didn’t so I returned it (last fall). I generally put this over Maybelline’s Bad to the Bronze and it is a gorgeous rose gold eyeshadow.
-Marc Jacobs Lust for Lacquer Lip Vinyl (Sheer) in Kissability – also have talked about this, love it, recommended it to one of my friends yesterday and she bought it too.

open
The colours children, the colours.

swatchesDon’t know why I started the swatches on such a weird place on my hand, but oh well. L-R: MJ Tantalizing, Mac Warm Soul (heavy swatch here, it’s gorgeous when blended in properly), Mac Naked Lunch, and L’Oreal Amber Rush.

swatches2L-R: Rimmel eyeliner (Nude), Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer (Medium), and MJ Kissability.

What were your August favourites?
After watching essiebutton’s newest video about Bourjois, I think it’s high time I tried out some of their products. Bourjois is found only at Shoppers Drug Mart and despite rumors – they are NOT in fact owned by Chanel, rather they are both owned by the same parent company, but are still independent lines.

Thanks so much for stopping by! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Late August Favourites!

  1. notquitecarrieb says:

    Did you have any issues with the vinyl feathering? I’ve had so many issues with getting mine to work and so many people I know that have gotten them have had feathering issues/took them back.

    I want to love!

    • staygorgeous says:

      I haven’t experienced any of that (maybe it’s because I have the sheer?)
      I didn’t bother with the full pigmentation ones since I feel like the Rimmel Apocalips will do the trick if I want more of a liquid lipstick look.

      • notquitecarrieb says:

        Even the sheer was everywhere…and I used one of the clear reverse lip liners. I wouldn’t really put the opaque ones in the same category as the showoffs/apocalips. I was so excited for the Marc launch!

Leave a Reply

