REVIEW: Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquers

Hello everyone! Thanks so much for your patience as I tried out the new Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquers. As with all of my makeup, I bought them with my own money – I do not have sponsors/don’t get things sent to me πŸ˜› I am just a beauty addict! For those of you who are unfamiliar, the Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquers were released in the UK in Fall 2012 and they only JUST made it across the pond a few weeks ago. I had been intrigued by them after seeing them in videos from essiebutton and fleurdeforce on youtube so I was mega excited to finally find them one night at Wal-Mart. From the Rimmel London website:

It’s the End of Colour as you know it!Β 
The intense rich colour of a lipstick, enhanced by a satin smooth shine.Β 

It’s neither a lipstick nor a gloss… It’s BIGGER than both!Β 

LONG LIVE THE COLOUR!

It’s basically liquid lipstick and it is INSANELY pigmented. I picked up 4 in total: Stellar, Aurora, Solstice, and Big Bang.
full

Helpful hint when buying: we’ve all seen it at the drugstore…inconsiderate people who have OPENED the package to swatch the colours and left the opened one there and taking a sealed one. These babies are sealed, however if you open one up, check for this:
openThe clear part is fully clear and clean when it has never been opened or used.
open2When you pull out the wand, the gloss will fill this part with the excess from the brush. Neat little visual.
Anyway, here are the pros:
-intense pigmentation
-fruity scent (some people dislike it, but I don’t mind it at all)
-great range of colours
-easy to apply without a mirror (I just swipe on my bottom lip and then press my lips together. A little bit goes a long way because if you put on too much, it feels horrible)

The cons:
-a little bit drying (it’s definitely not marketed as a balm so this is expected – just some lip balm before applying to help prevent this)
-stains your skin (took me a while to get big bang off my hand from swatching)

Here are the swatches!! Top to bottom: Solstice, Aurora, Stellar, and Big Bang.
swatches
Here’s what they look like on my lips:
solsticeSolstice – a very MLBB colour that is very wearable with any makeup look and for everyday.

auroraAurora – this is probably my favourite out of the 4 I picked up πŸ™‚ It’s bright without being neon, and I find it’s a little bit of a warmer leaning cerise-red with a faint hint of coral in some light.

bigbangThis is Big Bang – a true red. Nuff said.

stellarThis is Stellar – my least favourite. I know a lot of beauty bloggers LOVE this colour, but I think it’s too neon and too cool for my skin tone. I just feel odd wearing it – I think Stellar is much more suited for fairer skinned individuals.

You can now find the Rimmel Apocalips collections everywhere (Wal-Mart, Target, Rexall, Loblaws, etc) and they are generally between $7-$9 CDN depending on where you go. All in all, it’s a great drugstore lip product and I highly recommend picking up at least 2 πŸ˜‰
Stay tuned for Marc Jacobs Beauty (launching tomorrow, so excited).

Thanks so much for stopping by!

One thought on “REVIEW: Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquers

  1. theunicahija says:

    It took me a while to realize what MLBB stood for. Haha! I *seriously* need to get my mits on these. I’ve been seeing sooo many people talk about this and it’s fantastic!

Leave a Reply

