Contouring 101

I only recently began contouring regularly (this sentence seems horribly written) and it definitely makes a lot of difference. If you have a rounder face, contouring will be your best friend. Or if you want more defined cheekbones, I say give it a try! It looks a little daunting when you see this picture:
Image
Dark areas are where to contour, light is where to highlight. YIKES!
I posted Jen’s (frmheadtotoe) Basics: How to Contour video in my megapost so go check that out if you want to see great easy contouring in action.

I generally like to use the following to highlight and contour:

Highlight: theBalm Mary-Loumanizer highlighting powder (approx. $30, Rexall) (use a light hand or else you’ll be CRAZY glowy…unless you like that sorta look then by all means, go ahead) *I prefer the Kevyn Aucoin Celestial Powder but I’ve been theBalm-ing it up lately*
Brush: Real Techniques Setting Brush ($9, ftbbeauty.ca)
Where: top of my cheekbones (underneath the under eye area) in a semi-C shape up and around the temple. I generally don’t highlight my forehead or over my eyebrow because that tends to make me look greasy.

Contour: Tarte Amazonian Clay Matte Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess ($38, Sephora). Perfect for contouring because of the matte finish.
Brush: Elf Studio Powder Brush ($3, eyeslipsface.com or if you’re lucky, $5.99 at Winners/Marshalls to avoid shipping fees)
Where: I suck in my cheeks/make a fish face and contour just underneath the cheekbones and on my lower cheek, along the jawline, and up the sides of my face/outer edge + forehead. Also a bit along the sides of my nose.

Out of all the makeup tips I’ve picked up, contouring is probably one of the easiest. You may need to try a couple of times to get it right, but with anything, don’t overthink it and use the proper tools! 😉

Thanks so much for stopping by!

One thought on “Contouring 101

Leave a Reply

