March Favourites!

Hello everyone! So it’s pretty much the end of the month and you know what that means. Monthly favourites time! This time, I’ve also included skin and hair products as well as one of my favourite beauty tools I’d been meaning to post about that came with one of my Christmas presents last year. (Pictured here is also the Lancome Hypnose Drama Waterproof mascara…which was included with last month’s favourites so I didn’t write about it again).

20130329-151238.jpg

First up are the Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cleanser and Face Cream. My skin has always been pretty smooth and it was only within the last year or so that I noticed that it was getting really dry sometimes. I started using a facial moisturizer regularly but recently, I picked up a bunch of amazing samples from Kiehl’s which included these 2 products. The cleanser has kind of a gel-cream consistency which makes my skin feel brand new after rinsing it off. I then exfoliate with the Laura Mercier Face Polish (which is also amazing) and then use the face cream to finish it all off. I highly recommend this line if you want ultra soft skin that maintains moisture all day long.

20130329-151320.jpg

So this is pretty big for many beauty fanatics. I started off with the small 100mL bottle and recently picked up this big bottle of Bioderma with my Optimum points. This is a rinse-free makeup removing solution. It’s so sensitive and doesn’t burn your eyes that it’s basically as gentle as water but with makeup removing powers! I use Balea (Shoppers Drug Mart brand) wipes first, then use Bioderma on cotton pads to remove the excess product. I highly recommend using this!

20130329-151559.jpg

I found this Macadamia Oil Deep Repair Masque at Winners for $10 and WOW. It smells amazing and makes my hair extremely shiny and smooth. I will definitely be splurging on the full sized jar once this runs out.

20130329-151622.jpg

Alright so this was part of my Christmas gift from my Aunt/Uncle/Cousins (the rest was a gorgeous set from L’Occitane). You can find these at Asian stores…or recently they started carrying a Hello Kitty themed bow pack at Sephora. These are velcro fringe “clips”. The velcro helps keep your hair out of your face without crimping or causing any weird hair shapes. Seems a little silly, but hey – an amazing idea and very useful!

20130329-151654.jpg

This is probably the best drugstore nail polish I have ever used. This is the Revlon Brilliant Strength in Mesmerize. It wore (along with Seche Vite topcoat) for a whole week before it started chipping. The colour is fun and had perfect opacity in 2 coats. Excellent formulation – go pick one up and see for yourself.

20130329-151713.jpg

So here is my custom Mac palette I created last month. Top left and right are Ricepaper and Soba, bottom left and right are Quarry and Satin Taupe. This palette is so travel friendly and can create 2 simple looks – the top for daytime neutrals and bottom for a bit more of a smoky eye (colours on the left on lid, colours on the right as crease).

20130329-151740.jpg

I believe I’ve mentioned this before, but lately I’ve been using the Tarte Amazonian Clay Matte Bronzer in Park Avenue Princess. Perfect bronzer shade for me, and the matte finish makes it a lot easier to work into a daytime work look.

20130329-151807.jpg

Man this is a long post. My favourite blush this month has been the Tarte 12 Hour Amazonian Clay blush in Tipsy. It’s a gorgeous coral colour with great pigmentation. A little bit goes a long way, so even though the price is a bit on the steep side ($31 CDN) this is going to last a very long time.

20130329-151828.jpg

Finally, I’ve found my HG lip balm-crayon. This is the Soap&Glory Sexy Motherpucker Gloss Stick in Nudist. It reaches HG status because it smells great, has the perfect MLBB colour, and has a great balance of gloss and moisture. The only thing that I could nitpick at is that I think the CoverGirl Jumbo Gloss Balms are a TINY bit more long-lasting in terms of balm benefits, but it’s not really significant. So long story short, AMAZING. The only other downside: it’s not available in Canada 😦 I had to eBay this (as well as the Plum Jam colour) from the UK and it only just became available in American Sephora stores. So if you’re going south, go get it!

20130329-151847.jpg

Anyway that brings my long favourites post to a close. It was my birthday earlier this week and I received some Sephora gift cards – what should I use them on???

Feel free to comment with what your March Favourites were! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

