Champagne Hit and Miss: Stila Kitten vs. Benefit Bikini-Tini

Hello everyone! Since spring is finally around the corner, I’ve been more drawn to lighter eyeshadows – so I decided to pick up a nice champagne type colour. When I went to Sephora on Friday, I was originally looking for Stila Kitten however they were sold out. I noticed the new formulation of the Benefit Creaseless Cream shadows were available so I went on the hunt for a nice shade. I picked up Bikini-Tini (and ended up finding Kitten at a Shoppers Drug Mart) and I realized after that these are very similar. Read on to find out which one was disappointing/will be going back to the store.

20130310-204202.jpg

So the colours are similar but not complete dupes. The Stila shadow is the traditional pressed powder whereas the Benefit is a cream shadow. Both feel luxuriously smooth – a definitely upgrade from the old Benefit formula. Kitten is my first Stila shadow, and I am impressed with how velvety it is.

20130310-204310.jpg

Stila on the left, Benefit on the right. Kitten has a bit more of a peachy/rose gold lean whereas Bikini-tini looks a bit more yellow (even though it is described as being an oyster pink champagne). I was afraid Kitten would be too similar to Urban Decay’s Sin, however this is not the case since Kitten isn’t as pink and is very shimmery (without being too chunky/no fallout issues).

20130310-204514.jpg

So which one am I keeping? Stila Kitten takes this one. I am disappointed that although the new cream shadows from Benefit are smoother, they STILL crease. Not as much as the old formula, however considering it is $24 and is called Creaseless – I would expect that they’d get it right this time. Maybe it’s just me, but for the price point it is definitely not worth it and you’re better off with the Maybelline Color Tattoos. Stila Kitten is GORGEOUS and I wore it today all over the lid and blended Naked in the crease and Faint in the outer V. Shimmery, but not over the top and I can see why it is Stila’s best selling eyeshadow of all time.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

