I <3 Drugstore Makeup Tag + Hard to Find makeup in Canada

1. Favourite Drugstore Brand in General?
Hands down, Maybelline is my favourite drugstore brand. Their mascara (and mascara in general) is hit or miss for my stubbornly straight lashes, however all of their eyeshadow/eye products are amazing. I use the Line Stiletto liquid liner EVERY day – as I’ve mentioned, the felt tip is perfect for those new to liquid liner and just overall a fantastic product. I love the Color Tattoos – particularly Bad to the Bronze which is a favourite of many beauty bloggers and Inked in Pink.20130222-230134.jpg

2. Favourite Face/Cheek/Lip Product
This one is somewhat newer and should be no surprise – I love the CoverGirl Lipperfection Jumbo Gloss balms (check out my review of them a few posts back. I have 2 colours (Mauve Twist and Plum Twist) and I may pick up more!
20130222-230236.jpg

3. Least Favourite Drugstore Product?
CoverGirl Clump Crusher was a major fail for me. Many people hyped it up huge on reddit and such and it just weighed my lashes down! Bummer – I was hoping for the amazing results other people got!
20130222-230311.jpg

4. Best Drugstore Bargain?
They are hard to find in stores right now in Canada (I’m hoping they’ll be at Target when it finally opens here) but in general – I think the elf studio brushes are fantastic! They are $3 each and the quality is impressive for such a low price. I have a bunch of them (I happened to find the 11 piece Studio Set at Winners a while back, and ordered a few others online) and I love the Eyeshadow C brush – so much that I have 4 of them!
20130222-230522.jpg

5. Favourite Underdog Product?
See above! While Mac brushes are top notch and I do love Sigma – you really can’t beat a $3 makeup brush.

6. Overpriced Drugstore Product?
Anything by Physician’s Formula and Almay. I don’t own any of either, but drugstore makeup should be $10 or less generally.

7. Best Drugstore Dupe?
20130222-230657.jpg
Maybelline Line Stiletto – Lancome Artliner
Maybelline EyeStudio Gel liner – any high end gel liner

8. Product that isn’t worth the hype?
I know so many people are going to be like WHAAAAT but I am going to say the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains were really underwhelming and mediocre to me. I’ve speculated that maybe it’s because the Canadian formulation differs from the American one, either way – I didn’t love it like many other beauty bloggers did.

20130222-230712.jpg
So there’s my I Heart Drugstore Makeup tag, and I am tagging all of you! Let me know if you agree, disagree, or if you’re curious about any of my choices in the comments.
Also, brief bit of information about certain brands of makeup in Canada. Specifically, a where to buy for some of my favourite products:

Cle de Peau – this is only available now at the Holt Renfrew on Bloor and at select Chinese/Asian cosmetics retailers. I had to trek to Richmond Hill to get the refill cartridges for my beloved HG eyebrow pencil #204 as Holts has them backordered since the fall. They used to have it at a store in Bayview Village, but it closed down! 😦

Becca – only available at Sephora Eaton’s Centre, downtown Toronto.

Anyway, I am off to bed as it has been a long week! Thanks so much for stopping by, and I hope to see your tags soon!

2 thoughts on “I <3 Drugstore Makeup Tag + Hard to Find makeup in Canada

  1. excessiveblush says:

    OMG! SOMEONE THAT DOESN’T LOVE THE BALM STAINS! I’m exactly the same. They are totally over-hyped!

    Maybelline is my favourite too! I love their one by one mascara and super stay foundation like it was my own child. I just posted something about them actually! 🙂

    I wish we could get elf in Australia without having to get it shipped, I really want to try out their brushes!

  2. PRETTYTASTYREVIEWS.BLOGSPOT.COM says:

    Physicians formula is only overpriced in Canada.
    In the US it is all under $10 and they just had some $9 mail-in rebates on the new blushes and kohl eyeliner sets.

    Their eyeshadow “shimmer strips” is amazing and so are the shimmer strips blushes- they are made in Italy too and well pigmented.
    Their other eye shadows are not so great and their moneral line is MEH…

Leave a Reply

