Chanel Spring 2013: Printemps Precieux de Chanel

Hello everyone! So I recently splurged (and it was a real splurge) on a few things from the Chanel Spring 2013 collection. As much as I appreciate drugstore brands and love my Urban Decay, I enjoy the occasional high end products (Dior and YSL have their places in my collection). I also did a lot of research and contemplation (check out Raeview’s awesome Chanel Spring 2013 coverage and tutorial – her channel is linked on the right panel) and based on hers, Temptalia, and a few other beauty blog reviews, I decided to check out the goods and decide what I wanted to pick up. The first is probably the most coveted item from the collection. It will easily be the top pick I think from this line and why not? It’s absolutely GORGEOUS. This is the Poudre Signee de Chanel Illuminating Powder. It is described on the Chanel site as being “warmed by a dash of peach, its light beige shade sculpts and illuminates the complexion with a halo of soft light.” It definitely has a golden beige undertone so definitely perfect for most Asian skin tones. When the lady at the counter demo’d it on me, she applied it ALL over my face (which I thought was absolutely unnecessary and a terrible way of wearing it). When I wore it to work (yes, daytime highlighting whaaaat), I dusted it lightly in the regular highlighting areas (C-area from top of browbone, temple, and top of cheekbones), a bit down the centre of my nose, and a bit on the cupid’s bow. I got compliments as soon as I got to work! (Or shopliments, if you will.)

20130211-224343.jpg

This is the Les 4 Ombres Quadra Eyeshadow Palette #39 Raffinement. It is a new release with the Spring collection, however it is going to be in the permanent line so there’s no big rush to grab it. As most of my regular readers already know, I’m generally a fan of the neutrals (UD Naked and Naked Basics are my most commonly used palettes) so this was the main thing I wanted to check out. Fun fact: Canada and everywhere not the US gets this baked shadow formula, whereas the one in the states is in square pans and is more of a regular pressed formulation. Now I read online from a few bloggers that the non-US shadows are less pigmented along with being significantly less in volume for the same price. While I will say that the price vs. volume is pretty annoying from the international version and the US version, I will say I have no idea what people are talking about in terms of pigmentation. When I went to apply after priming with my trusty Urban Decay Primer Potion, the colours were CRAZY pigmented. Temptalia.com describes the shades as “rich mauve, pearly pink beige, shimmering lilac, and deep eggplant”. So while they are still neutrals, they are a bit of a feminine amped-up collection, which I think creates a perfect eye look for the Spring.

20130211-224405.jpg

Finally, here is the Stylo Yeux Waterproof Long Lasting Eyeliner in Or Rose (a rose gold shade). This along with the powder are Limited Edition, and I am DEFINITELY going to pick up another one of these within the next few weeks since I love this! When applied on the waterline with the palette shadows, it brightens up the eyes and picks up on the colours of the highlight if you wear it together. I’ve also been using this with my daily work look (using UD Naked Basics) and it is also perfect with that. I highly recommend this eyeliner if you love neutrals and want a little bit more pizzazz to jazz up your look (so many Z’s!)

20130211-224436.jpg

I posted this on my Instagram a couple weeks ago now (sorry it’s so small here) but this is my Spring Chanel look in natural light! I am wearing all of the above products, along with my Chanel Rouge Allure #90 Pimpante and the Chanel Glossimer #165 Volupte, which are both part of the permanent range. (Non-Chanel products also used: Dior Hydra Life BB Creme, Tarte Maracuja Creaseless Concealer in Medium, Becca Perfect Skin Mineral Foundation in Tan, Nars blush in Torrid, Maybelline Line Stiletto in Brownish Black, Make Up For Ever Professional Aqua Smoky Lash, and Cle de Peau eyebrow pencil #204).

chanel

Anyway, that’s it for now! Next up: my February Topbox – The Benefit Prive Box! Thanks so much for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Chanel Spring 2013: Printemps Precieux de Chanel

Leave a Reply

