Review: Maybelline Color Whisper

Wow, 2 posts in 2 days – a new all time high? Nah I just wanted to get this up before I got crazy busy again and forgot. Today I am reviewing the new Maybelline Color Whisper lipstick-balm-whatever. This seems to be their response to the Revlon Lip Butters and L’Oreal Color Riche Balm line. Like many other beauty bloggers, the cursive writing is what initially drew me in. It makes the packaging look that much prettier, however for some reason it almost reminds me of BonneBell products from back in the day.

20130127-202523.jpg

As mentioned in my haul post, I picked up “Some Like It Taupe” and “Made-It Mauve”. These are slightly slimmer than the Revlon or L’Oreal counterparts (including the lid).

20130127-202619.jpg

I apologize for the random lighting. My room is rather dark/the lighting is more yellow toned so I went to the front door area of my house to take “better” pics. Here are the swatches, Made-It Mauve on top, Some Like It Taupe on the bottom. The formulation is very reminiscent of the Revlon Lip Butters – smooth, gel-like with a nice shine. Maybe it’s just me, but I find these to be a bit firmer than Revlon…I found the butters sometimes a little TOO soft. Staying power is minimal but the colour payoff to me is pretty decent. (I own 3 of the lip butters and 1 of the L’Oreal balms…so I would say this is pretty even in terms of price/pigmentation/formulation).

20130127-202653.jpg

Here is a mediocre angle of me wearing Made-It Mauve.

20130127-202724.jpg

And this is Some Like It Taupe. Again, the lighting even in the same area is wonky. Ughhhh. Either way, I must say I enjoy both, however I just looked through my collection and realized I now have too many mauve lip colours (this one, L’Oreal Color Riche Balm in Tender Mauve, Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle, Cover Girl Lipperfection in Mauve Twist….oops!) So it looks like this will be my last mauve pick for the next little while LOL.

20130127-202750.jpg

Bottom line – Maybelline Color Whisper (8.99 at Shoppers, probably will be less once they hit Wal-Mart) is a nice answer to the Revlon and L’Oreal predecessors however IMO, not necessary to own all of them (unless you find a shade that you GOTTA have). It applies more like a lipstick than the Revlon Lip Butters (sometimes a bit squishy) however still maintaining that smooth gel feel.

Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Review: Maybelline Color Whisper

Leave a Reply

