Drugstore Makeup Haul!

Hello everyone! To celebrate the end of report cards and cure boredom, I decided to venture out to Shoppers Drug Mart (also had to get vitamins) and Loblaws Superstore. So here it is, my first haul of the new year! (I picked up a couple of things within the last 2 weeks so I’ve also included them here)
20130126-201651.jpg

Battle of the jumbo lip crayons! I picked up the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Honey some time last week in hopes that it’d be the perfect “my lips but better” colour to throw in my purse and carry with me every day. No such luck! I’d read reviews that said Honey was the most neutral looking of the range, however I found it too pink. So when I saw the new CoverGirl Lipperfection Jumbo Gloss Balm in Mauve Twist (which I hadn’t seen until tonight) I figured it was worth a try.
20130126-201715.jpg

Honey is a bit more dusty rose looking, whereas Mauve Twist is brighter with almost a touch of coral.
20130126-201847.jpg

Revlon on the left, CoverGirl on the right. While most people rave about how much they LOVE the Revlon stains, I found them to be pretty drying on my lips. Mind you, apparently the formulation of these differ in Canada from the US, so this may be a factor. Honey looks dusty rose and on initial application, looks pretty decent although a bit pinker than I’d like. HOWEVER when it fades and stains, the stain is a bright pink! Definitely not a fan. Mauve Twist from CoverGirl is EXACTLY what I was looking for in terms of colour and formulation. It makes my lips look so soft and gives a really nice and not over the top shine. It is hydrating without being sticky. I will definitely go pick up a couple of other colours to try soon.

20130126-202005.jpg

I haven’t tried or swatched these yet, but this is another new Spring collection line that caught my eye. These are the new Maybelline Color Whisper lipsticks. One of my favourite beauty vloggers Amarixe (go check out her youtube channel) had mentioned them in her recent drugstore haul, so when I finally spotted them at Shoppers Drug Mart tonight on sale, I knew it was fate.
20130126-202041.jpg

I picked up “Some Like It Taupe” (my first nude lipstick!) and “Made-It Mauve” (clearly a fan of mauve lips lately since it’s classroom appropriate). Swatches and reviews will be forthcoming!
20130126-202109.jpg

Also picked up one of the newer Color Tattoo’s in Inked in Pink. Will post a swatch soon, or yknow, google it ’cause it’s been out for a while now 😉
20130126-202138.jpg

I didn’t realize this nail polish colour “Mesmerize” was so similar to my duvet cover LOL. I bought this because it was on sale (4.99 is pretty good for Brilliant Strength here in Canada) and I had a coupon for 1000 bonus Optimum Points with any Revlon nail polish purchase. I’m kind of hoping it’ll be a dupe for Deborah Lippmann’s On The Beach (looks a bit darker than DL though).

20130126-202240.jpg

I caved and picked up the CoverGirl Clump Crusher mascara that was HUGE on reddit in December because I wanted to see if it was worth the hype. As you can see, I haven’t even opened it yet because I want to wait until my Maybelline Colossal Cat Eyes is ready to be tossed…however am getting impatient so will probably try it sooner rather than later. Oh, and I picked up a Maybelline Line Express eyeliner in Brownish Black just ’cause I wanted a darker brown pencil liner (Urban Decay’s 24/7 Whiskey isn’t  dark enough most of the time).

20130126-202303.jpg

So that is all for now – will definitely post reviews and swatches of those other lip products soon! What are some of YOUR drugstore favourites lately? Please let me know if you’ve tried the Maybelline Color Whisper’s or the CoverGirl Lipperfection Jumbo Gloss Balm’s and what you think of them! Thanks so much for stopping by!

One thought on “Drugstore Makeup Haul!

Leave a Reply

