Urban Decay: Naked Basics Review!

Hello everyone and happy 2013! For my first post of the new year, I am doing a review on the Urban Decay Naked Basics palette. Being a relatively still newbie to makeup and a big fan of the original Naked palette, I wasn’t sure what the big fuss was about for matte shadows. Apparently there was a high demand for matte shadows and it definitely piqued my curiosity. Here we go!

20130114-224635.jpg

So compared to the Naked palette, this one is tiny! The packaging has a more sturdy feel (rubberized plastic as opposed to Naked’s velvet cardboard and Naked 2’s tin) but the rubber feel is also reminiscent of Nars products. The only gripe I have is that it’s a little bit challenging to open but it’s not a dealbreaker. I also wish this had come with a sample of something like the previous Naked’s ie: primer potion, lipgloss and/or a travel sized brush.

20130114-225759.jpg

As with the predecessors, Naked Basics holds FULL SIZED (0.05 oz) shadows. It is predominately matte, with 1 satin/pearly highlight colour (Venus). Here are the swatches, from left to right as laid out in the palette!

20130114-225115.jpg

You can see that Naked 2 kind of disappears into my skin, but it’s still visible enough to make a difference. At first, I wasn’t sure I would keep this palette, but now I definitely realize how great of a purchase this was! I use this now almost everyday for work! I haven’t used my original Naked palette for about 2 weeks now, but I will definitely break it out when I want a little more oomph. The Naked Basics palette is fantastic to create different looks (I’ve seen tutorials on Youtube for smoky eye looks with it) however I like that it makes my eyes look polished. This is my current work look:

20130114-224726.jpg

Face:
Dior Hydra Life BB Creme
Tarte Maracuja Creaseless Concealer in Medium
Becca Perfect Skin Mineral Powder Foundation in Tan
Nars blush in Outlaw (gorgeous red-toned blush that creates such a natural glow!)

Eyes:
Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Original
Urban Decay Naked Basics palette: Walk of Shame as base/lid, Naked 2 to blend into crease, Venus as highlight
Urban Decay 24/7 eye pencil in Whiskey on lower waterline
Maybelline Line Stiletto liquid liner in Brownish Black
Tarte Gifted Amazonian Clay mascara
Cle de Peau eyebrow pencil in #204

Lips:
Usually alternate between clear gloss or Too Faced La Creme lipstick in Honey Bear. This pic however I believe I was wearing Stila’s Kitten.

The bottom line/tl;dr – Naked Basics isn’t a GOTTA HAVE IT product, but is a nice supplementary palette to the original Naked. If you want to create a simple and polished look and have a palette that is very travel friendly, then this palette is for you! ($32 CDN at Sephora)

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

