December Favourites!

Hello everyone! It’s been quite a while since my last post – this month has been extremely busy. A few of my favourites for this month have been mentioned before as they are basically my HG products (UD Naked, Dior BB – not individually photographed). Away we go!

20121228-140317.jpg

So this first item was a surprise. I haven’t purchased a drugstore brand mascara in over 5 years – I think my last one was Cover Girl Lash Blast while I was still in university. I was a little wary, but decided to just give it another try. I must say – the Maybelline Colossal Cat Eyes is pretty damn good. I do have to curl my lashes before and after putting it on, but it definitely holds my lashes up and gives them great volume. It’s a drier formula (kinda reminds me of Diorshow) so if you like putting on multiple coats you’ll have to move quickly. I generally only need one to get the look I want and to avoid scary looking lashes. (Tip: only because I had no idea which way to use the brush – the way I am holding it in the picture is how you apply to the top lashes. Flip it to do the bottom!)

20121228-140342.jpg

The next was my favourite last month as well – it is my go-to lip colour – Mac Rebel. It is probably one of the most universally flattering shades and is just gorgeous in its deep berry pigmentation.

20121228-140359.jpg

Another Mac product which was from last month’s favourites – Mac blush in Plumfoolery. The lighting in my room definitely does not do this justice. It’s actually a bit darker and more plum/berry toned. You don’t need a lot of it – so light hands! I use the Sigma F84 Angled Top Kabuki brush to apply (which is my favourite face brush in my collection).

20121228-140416.jpg

Next is my HG liquid liner – I alternate between Blackest Black and Brownish Black in the Maybelline Line Stiletto. Pictured here is brownish black which is a little less dramatic for an everyday work look (I use this almost everyday – as long as I am wearing makeup, this is the very least!) The felt tip is fantastic for precision and ease of application – and comparable to the Lancome Artliner (approx. $37 CDN wtf?!) Line Stiletto can usually be found on sale for $6.99 every so often at Shoppers Drug Mart (reg. price around 8.99-10.99 depending on where you are).

20121228-140433.jpg

Finally, earlier this month I picked up the Becca Perfect Skin Mineral Powder Foundation in Tan and it has replaced my Mac Mineralize Skin Finish in Medium Dark (a bit too pink toned). It is only available at the Toronto Eaton Centre Sephora (and everywhere in the States) and I am loving it. I don’t like makeup that is heavy or caked on – I use BB cream, concealer under my eyes, then finish with this powder and my face still feels like my face and not some hot waxy mess. I really love the packaging of this powder – the only con is that it’s basically the same rubberized finish as NARS so it has been picking up the excess powder fallout…but it has a mirror so that is handy!

20121228-140450.jpg

So that’s it for December! I didn’t want to do a favourites of 2012 since I started my makeup collection in July so I feel it’s very late in the game. Perhaps next year…
Anyway thanks so much for reading and I hope you have a fantastic new year and all the best for 2013!

Edit: forgot my new favourite eyebrow pencil! This is the Cle de Peau eyebrow pencil #204. For those who are unfamiliar, Cle de Peau is a subsidiary of Shiseido. #204 is a grey-black tone and I am loving it. While the initial price is steep (around $30 for the holder + $25 for the cartridge), you only need to buy the holder once obviously and then the refills after. Which in the end is cheaper than the Diorshow brow styler I had been using which is around $31. I LOVE this!

20121228-162430.jpg

Leave a Reply

