November Favourites + brief reviews! (Text only)

Hey everyone! This post will be all text just because all the products listed have been photographed and posted before this, so if you are interested, go check out my older posts! November was a fun month – Sephora had their big VIB sale during which I picked up a lot of great products, as well as the Black Friday doorcrashers which were available exclusively for that day (morning). First, I’ll share my opinions on some of the Black Friday deals.

Buxom In the Spotlight set ($12 CDN) – being a mascara junkie, I knew I had to pick this up. It came with the Amplified Lash mascara as well as the Big & Healthy Lip Stick in Shanghai which is a deep/vampy raspberry colour. The mascara for me was really just ok. It didn’t really do a lot of lengthening (and the adjustable wand length is confusing), nor did it give me the volume I wanted. As mentioned many times before, my Holy Grail mascara is Make Up For Ever Professional’s Aqua Smoky Lash since it gives insane volume, length, and staying power (my lashes are straight and point downward). Will def not be repurchasing. The lipstick is a little weird at first – it made my lips all tingly which really threw me off (apparently it’s ’cause it’ll make your lips fuller…which I don’t really need). I do enjoy the colour however – great pigmentation and applied pretty easily. I won’t be repurchasing this either though because of the tingly effect.

Tarte Gifted Amazonian Clay Mascara and Primer Set ($12 CDN) – ah yes, another mascara set. The primer didn’t work for me, but the mascara is awesome! It provided length and volume, almost the same amount as Benefit’s They’re Real! mascara. The big reason why I will probably buy this in the future INSTEAD of Benefit (gasp!) is because Tarte is cruelty-free (verified by PETA). While I realize that my HG mascara from MUFE isn’t cruelty free, I would really like to start supporting more of those companies who don’t test on animals. So Tarte Gifted mascara will be replacing They’re Real! in my makeup collection.

Josie Maran Bear Naked Makeup Remover Wipes (and Nail Polish wipes, but haven’t tried those yet) ($12 CDN) – standard makeup removers. I like that she is also cruelty-free/no animal testing, and these wipes are pure, biodegradable, natural, etc etc etc AND contain argan oil! I’m not crazy about the scent but they do the trick. Still undecided on whether or not I will repurchase.

I still have yet to try the Stila palette and lipgloss – sorry! I’ve been doing the same few looks with either the Naked or Vice palettes from UD lately.

Anyway, without further ado – my list of November favourites!!!

Face: (quite a few of these!)
Dior Hydra Life BB Creme – while this is definitely more of a splurge (fortunately picked it up during the VIB Sale), this BB creme is PERFECT for me. So lightweight and easy to apply, and the golden undertones makes it just right for Asian skin tones. It makes my skin look almost flawless (I am blessed with naturally “beautiful” skin – or so everyone tells me…which is why I use quotation marks cause I kinda think I’d sound like a douchebag for saying how awesome my skin is).
Mac Sheertone Shimmer Blush in Plum Foolery – such a gorgeous plum-pink shade that is perfect for the Fall-Winter months. Great flush of colour – go check it out if you can!
Tarte Maracuja Oil Creaseless Concealer – I picked this up as an upgrade from my Benefit Erase Paste and I am extremely happy I did. Maracuja oil is supposedly super hydrating, but what I like most about this concealer is that a little bit goes a long way. As it is being applied, it looks like it’ll be oily, but it actually dries with a matte finish. Love it!
YSL Touche Eclat Radiant Touch – illuminator/highlighter that some people use as a concealer (which is not its’ intended use but hey, to each their own). I like using it at the end of the work day when I need a little brightening, or to touch up/fix any eyeliner or mascara transfer.

Eyes:
Urban Decay Naked Palette – mentioned it before, and it is a staple for most beauty bloggers and vloggers. I use it EVERY day.
Urban Decay eyeshadow in Bust – beautiful grey-taupe shade, perfect for blending. I am loving UD more and more.

Lips:
Mac Satin finish lipstick – Rebel (perfect bold fall lip colour, was a favourite last month as well!)

Anyway it is pretty late now and I am le tired. Sorry for the lack of pics…perhaps I will add some in later this week 😛
Thanks for reading!!

Leave a Reply

