November Glymm vs Topbox, plus Sephora Black Friday Haul!

Hey everyone! So this month I finally got off of the Topbox waiting list and received my first one! I was immediately impressed.

20121125-223402.jpg

What came in the box:
Benefit They’re Real mini mascara (0.1 oz)
China Glaze “I’m Not Lion” nailpolish – FULL SIZE! ๐Ÿ™‚
Cuccio Naturale Butter Blend hand/body lotion sample (0.33 oz)
Roberto Cavalli Deluxe Miniature (5 ml)

The only thing in this box I won’t use is the perfume since I’m not a huge perfume person and the scent isn’t really my style. But the mascara as previously posted, I do use pretty regularly and I’m a nail polish fiend. Hand lotion is hand lotion, pretty standard, smells decent.

Compared to my November Glymm box, Topbox definitely comes out on top. This month’s Glymm makeup bag is a faux snakeskin type pattern, and the samples are again mediocre in my books. December will be my last Glymm box as Topbox knocks it out of the park.

20121125-223440.jpg

What came in the box:
Lys Parisien Professionnel Organic Argan Oil Shampoo and Moisturizing Balm (60 ml each) – not crazy about the smell
Villainess Scintillating Bar Soap (haven’t tried it yet, but smells refreshing because it contains peppermint)
The Beehive eau de parfum (0.7 ml)
The New Black nail polish (0.125 fl oz) – love the colour. Apparently this is a full size sample as they are sold in sets of 3-5.

While I appreciate that Glymm is exposing me to brands I’ve never heard of, I’m finding that in each box, there’s only 1 or 2 things I actually use/like, however none that I am loving enough to repurchase. Topbox is sending a good mix of popular and somewhat unknown brands. So Topbox is what I’ll be sticking with for the time being – and it is clear why they have a 4-5 month waitlist.

Anyway, last Friday was Black Friday and Sephora had some great doorcrashers. I woke up bright and early and got to Sherway Gardens just after 7am (yes, pre-work shopping). I picked up a bunch of great stuff for myself as well as some Christmas gifts!

20121125-223511.jpg

L-R:
Tarte Gifted Amazonian Clay Smart Mascara (works really well – I’m wearing it right now and it definitely lengthens and volumizes!) and Primer set
Buxom In the Spotlight mascara and lipstick set – Amplified Lash mascara and Shanghai lipstick (a vampy berry red)
Josie Maran Bear Naked Makeup Remover and Nailpolish Remover Wipes
Philosophy Purity Face Wash (only $10?!?! Retail $26! Amazing!)
Stila Merry and Bright palette (eyeshadows + lip/cheek stain) + Lip Glaze in Kitten

Anyway – I’ll post more reviews once I’ve tried the products. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

