REVIEW: Benefit They’re Real! Mascara

Tonight I went into Sephora to pick up the Benefit Creaseless Cream Shadow in Skinny Jeans that I’d been eye-ing. While I was there, I was in the impulse buy mood and the sales associate recommended They’re Real! to me. I’d seen and heard mixed reviews on this. My usual YouTube vlogger-guru Lillian does a video review and demo of it, and they didn’t turn out that great on her. Horrible commenters said she had poor technique (haters!!!) and that they loved it. So because I just needed to see for myself, I picked up the new-ish bundle that’s available now that includes a full size and travel size. I was a little hesitant since MUFE Aqua Smoky Lash has been working for me, but I figured if it didn’t work, the good thing was that I could return it. It was also purely coincidental that my nailpolish + accent nail colour matched it perfectly (they’re chipped now but it’s Essie Chinchilly with Revlon Topspeed Peachy).

20120928-225121.jpg

I didn’t wear ANY makeup to work today, so it was perfect for me to try when I got home tonight. Pardon the shiny nose and somewhat tired eyes hahah. It’s been a long week! 20120928-224902.jpg
Hmm a bit closer…20120928-224957.jpg

What I like about it so far: The lengthening is pretty damn good actually! I’ll take my time tomorrow morning to see if I can get a smoother application (there is a little clumping, but not too bad!) but I am actually very impressed.

Areas of opportunity: It’s not as dramatic as I’d like it to be. It’s definitely a lighter feeling formula than MUFE but I think this is actually a nicer look for daily wear. Perhaps I’ll layer it with a swipe of Diorshow to pump up the volume and drama.

Overall grade: A- (like it, will most likely buy it again!)

I am also somewhat interested in the Lancome Hypnose Doll Lashes mascara…might have to try it out in a few months….

Thanks for stopping by!! 🙂

 

One thought on “REVIEW: Benefit They’re Real! Mascara

  1. notquitecarrieb says:

    I have this one but haven’t tried it yet…I hear it does a good job holding a curl if you’ve used an eyelash curler. Can’t wait to hear how you feel about it after trying it out for a while!

Leave a Reply

