Look of the Day: Chai Latte Mix

So today I decided to try a look inspired by Rae aka Raeviewer. For those of you who are unfamiliar, she is a beauty vlogger (see link on the right panel) and she mostly uses very high end cosmetics (ie: Chanel, YSL). One of her favourite items is the Tom Ford eyeshadow quad in Cognac Sable, and after watching her tutorial for it, I really wanted to copy that look. HOWEVER, 3 things: 1. I am not a pro yet (lol), 2. Tom Ford eyeshadows are not available in Canada, and 3. Even if they were…they retail at around $76 for a palette. Luckily, in her Top 10 Drugstore video, she mentions that the Maybelline Expert Wear quad in Chai Latte reminds her most of Cognac Sable, so I picked it up a little while ago. I tried it only once before today, using only the colours in the quad and I didn’t think much of it. However, after researching a bit more and checking out a bunch of other palettes I have, I tried my best to recreate the look that Rae does. It doesn’t look exactly like it, but I was pretty pleased with the outcome. 1 pic indoors, 2 pics in natural light.

20120915-195911.jpg

20120915-195858.jpg

20120915-195905.jpg

What I used:

Skin:
-Dior Hydralife Tinted Moisturizer (I haven’t done a review because I really have nothing to compare it to lol. This is the first time I’ve ever used moisturizer on a regular basis. I like it because it evens everything out, however it does require powder to set it/mattify.)
-Benefit Erase Paste
-Mac Mineralize Skin Finish
-Mac Mineralize Blush (Warm Soul)

Eyes:
-Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion (Original)
-Maybelline Expert Wear Eyeshadow Quad (Chai Latte – orange/bronze lid shade)
-Maybelline Colour Studio Eyeshadow Palette (Caffeine Rush – lid shade as base)
-Elf Endless Eyes Mini Palette (Warm – last shade on the right in 2nd row for crease, 3rd shade from the left in the last row for liner)
-Maybelline Line Stiletto liquid liner (Blackest Black)
-MUFE Aqua Smoky Lash
-Diorshow Brow Styler

Lips:
-Revlon Color Burst lipgloss in Rosegold

That’s it for now – thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

