Looking for the perfect mascara….(text only, sorry :P still a rookie)

I started this beauty blog after I had recently tried 2 new mascaras that came out within the last few months…so I didn’t even think to take pictures of them. I will do my best to describe them and tell you about my experience with both the Givenchy Noir Couture 4 in 1 and the Korres Volanic Mineral Volumizing mascaras. But first, my quest to find something to help my lashes.

You can refer back to my look of the day post a few posts back – my lashes aren’t super short, but they point straight down. Through the years, I’ve tried SO many different brands. I’ve tried the Maybelline Great Lash (the best-selling mascara of all time), a few Cover Girl (stuff from the late ’90’s and more recently Lash Blast), L’Oreal Voluminous, a few Rimmel’s, and so on and so on. I had also used (as previously shared) different eyelash curlers from popular drugstore cosmetics brands but found no real success until I was introduced to the Shu Uemura eyelash curler. Things improved, even with using Cover Girl’s Lash Blast, but I was still looking for something more.

Enter Cargo’s Texas Lash. This was my go-to mascara throughout university. Big, bold “Texas-sized” lashes. It provided the volume and drama I was looking for…but staying power was lacking, especially on those late bar nights.

I then bought the Cover Girl Lash Blast mascara (pretty sure it was waterproof) so it was again, ok. It did the job, but for my lashes, it left something to be desired.

Late 2011 I bought the Diorshow mascara and was initially impressed…however I now must also mention that before recently, I RARELY wore makeup at all. Before this summer, makeup was only for going out/special events, and even then, it was VERY minimal (think only mascara, eyeshadow, and lipgloss).
It wasn’t until this past February where I tried the Make Up For Ever Professional Aqua Smoky Lash that I’ve found my staple mascara. It’s 100% waterproof, no transfer, and keeps my lashes curled and looking great all day. I highly recommend it to every mascara enthusiast. Is it my perfect mascara? If it’s not, it’s pretty damn close. I think ultimately to get the look I want, I have to wear fake lashes. 😛

Anyway since I still like trying out new things, when I went to Sephora looking to get a new bottle of Aqua Smoky Lash and they were sold out, I decided to try the Givenchy Noir Couture 4 in 1 mascara in Black Satin. It boasts that it is (on the Sephora site) “formulated with Givenchy’s exclusive Lash Booster Expert Complex that provides nutrition, revitalization, fortification, and protection.” The sales associate was raving about it, so even though it was a bit on the pricey side ($35CDN as opposed to the MUFE $25) I decided to try it out. It seemed pretty cool with the triple ball wand applicator and the big claims. The result? NOPE. As soon as I put on the first coat, it weighed my lashes right down. I tried to re-curl but it was no use. So I went back to Sephora a few days later (after giving it another try) and exchanged it for another new product. The Korres Volcanic Mineral Volumizing mascara claimed on the sign to increase lash volume by 600%! What??? “This Obsidian black is formulated with volcanic minerals for the deepest, darkest color and an explosive increase in lash volume. These rich pigments blend with natural film formers to create a flexible yet strong coating that covers every lash.” (Sephora.com’s description). While it was VERY black and therefore dramatic, I also had no luck. I put the first coat on and it definitely made my lashes a bit bolder and lot blacker, it wasn’t at the volume I wanted so I proceeded with a 2nd coat. I was excited for about 30 seconds, and then watched as my lashes drooped down. Bummer. So that one was returned as well, and I ended up getting the Aqua Smoky Lash at Yorkdale’s Sephora (as it was sold out everywhere else closer to me) along with my Tokidoki haul and that’s basically that!!

Overall – Make Up For Ever’s Aqua Smoky Lash = GREAT.
Everything else just doesn’t work for me unfortunately. Maybe if your lashes are naturally curled (lucky you!!) then the others would probably work just fine. But if your lashes are like mine and point straight down and are a mid-length, then try the Aqua SL.

I know this was long and text-heavy so if you read the whole thing, you’re awesome! If you didn’t, that’s okay too. 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

One thought on “Looking for the perfect mascara….(text only, sorry :P still a rookie)

Leave a Reply

